"Unresolved" XREF quirk

pt_keegan

Hi all,

I have a nested xref that will come up as "unresolved" when I open a file. A simple reload will find the nested xref until I open the file again...where it becomes unresolved again.

Opening the xref shows that the troublesome nested xref in question is coming in just fine thought...strange!

All the xrefs are relative paths. Anyone have a clue? Thanks a billion.

**forgot to include the AutoCAD version 2010 and the file is 2007 format

-pk

Where did you get the XREF from? Could you do a saveas of the XREF or the nested one (or both I guess) and try to wipe out any reference in the parent drawing to any of the original XREFs and then re-associate the new ones you created? I'm just getting started with XREFs myself, but it seems they can be finicky if a file name gets changed or you change location of a file. Maybe something got messed up with that. Just a stab.

Is the xref in question in the same file or else where on a network/ your PC? Sometimes CAD can be stupid. it auto looks in the file the DWG is located in and ends right there some times. It could be as easy as going into the external reference manager and reassigning the path to said xref though. Anything outside that file folder and CAD gets very specific about xrefs.

The xref in question is located in a different folder, but on the same network drive. I've tried reassigning the path with no luck.

whats odd is that I have a very similar file (another floor of the same building) that is located in the same place; xref'd into the drawing via the same path, that shows up no problem! I don't get it.

The xref in question is located in a different folder, but on the same network drive. I've tried reassigning the path with no luck.

whats odd is that I have a very similar file (another floor of the same building) that is located in the same place; xref'd into the drawing via the same path, that shows up no problem! I don't get it.