Align parts in assembly

alijahed

Hi All,

I'm new to Inventor and coming from AutoCAD. So far so good but the logic is completely different.

I have 2 parts a Box and a Cylinder. I want to put the center of the Cylinder on the midpoint of one of the faces on the Box.

When I use mate constraints I can pick the center grip of the Cylinder but unlike AutoCAD I can't find the midpoint of the Face to drop it there.

How can I do that?

Cheers

Ali

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• alijahed

• JD Mather

• kencaz

• Pablo Ferral

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Can you attach your part files here? If modeled correctly you should be able to mate your Origin CenterPoints.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/AU2006/MA13-3%20Mather.pdf

Like the real world - parts in Inventor will move together to adapt to changes in size and motion if mated correctly. AutoCAD cannot do this.

Thanks for your reply.

here is the file.

Hammer.zip

Have you gone through the built in tutorials and read pdf I linked earlier.

Unlike AutoCAD, Inventor works more like the real world. A part is a part, in Inventor an ipt file. An assembly is a collection of parts whose relationship is defined in an iam file. And a drawing might be of a part or an assembly and is like a flat sheet of paper represented in an idw file.

Model your hammer parts in separate ipt files and the assemble, just like the real world.

You could add a work axis in your square part for the cylinder to constraint to.

Thanks for your reply,

My problem is I can't find the center of the surface to put the axis on it! in AutoCAD I hover the pointer on the midpoint edges of the surface and with moving the mouse on the surface the intersection of those midpoints guide me for the center of the surface but I have no idea here:cry:

Can you please explain me.

Cheers

Ali

Have you gone through the built in tutorials and read pdf I linked earlier.