+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 75
  1. #1
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default Timeout Error at CADTutor?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I've had a couple of reports of people not being able to access the site for short periods. I need to get a clear picture of how frequently this is happening, from which geographic locations and at what times. If you are experiencing problems accessing the site, please post your details here so that I can troubleshoot the problem.

    Thanks

    David
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  2. #2
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,796

    Default

    An occasional time out in Eastern Pennsylvania, USA.

    The time outs are short, usually on a Saturday or Sunday morning. Not a great deal, use the time to start another pot of coffee.

    Perhaps a better explanation would be a minor slowdown. I usually figured, "System maintenance."
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  3. #3
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    I'm in Western Pennsylvania, USA and lately (past month or so) I get a timeout error or it just won't connect about once or twice a day. Try again in 5 minutes or so and all is well.
    I just assumed it was heavy traffic, either on my ISP or at your server.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,518

    Default

    I'm in Southeastern Virginia a get the time out once or twice a week. I haven't noticed any pattern to it. -David

    Using Google Chrome ( although I doubt that it's a browser issue )
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Could not connect yesterday for a short period of time. I usually assume the fault is on this side of the pond. I'm on the east coast of the U.S. in Connecticut.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Fire Alarm's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Fire Alarm's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Computer:
    Dell XPS XPS710
    Using
    MEP 2008
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Happened twice to me last Friday. Couldn't get on for about an hour. Have not had a problem since. Figured it was for down for updating or maintenance. Also, on East Coast in Delaware
    There is no limit to what one can do with knowledge and imagination.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic Lee Mac's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Mac's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (32-bit)
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Mac's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Custom Programming / Software Customisation
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    19,322

    Default

    Happened a few times for me -- just found that I'm 'unable to connect'
    Lee Mac ProgrammingTwitterExchange App StoreDropbox (500MB free)

    With Mathematics there is the possibility of perfect rigour, so why settle for less?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,142

    Default

    Good to know that it's not just me.

    Can you guys try to document the time next time this happens? It happened to me yesterday at 4:32 pm, my time, and lasted until 4:46. I've noticed it happening about once a day for the last few weeks. If we can all keep track of the time when this happens maybe we can figure out what's causing it.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  9. #9
    Super Member nukecad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nukecad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 10 home.
    Computer:
    Various machines.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NW Cumbria (English Lake District)
    Posts
    698

    Default

    I've had the odd 'unable to display webpage' and have noticed that it tends to be about 30 mins after the schools let out or 5 mins after a soap has finished on TV.

    I blame the kids logging onto FaceBook / YouTube all at the same time.
    *** Out of Beer Error ->-> Recovering Memory***

  10. #10
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,112

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have been experiencing this during the week for several hours, But nothing consistant. Some occassions are back to back days while others times are spaced every couple of days. The time of this can be from 12:00pm EST to 3:30pm EST.

    Also noticed when I log out, All the threads I have read are lit up again as if I had not read them. When I log back in they return to normal.

Similar Threads

  1. error on changing pages for cadtutor
    By chelsea1307 in forum Feedback
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th Jul 2009, 11:45 am
  2. File lock timeout?
    By hermelin in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10th Dec 2008, 11:10 am
  3. Thanks CADTutor
    By architecture68-raff in forum Feedback
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2007, 11:47 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts