How to create blocks to use in an exploded view.

ellioy

Okay, so im pretty new to autoCAD. I'm using Architecture 2010.

I basically started drawing and by means of extruding, rotating and slicing, came up with this drawing (see image). Now, i basically want to create an exploded view of it. I want the exploded view to show the whole roof part like lifted a few feet above, the round beams to be separated, you get the idea.

I first just tried using the explode command, but when i do that parts of my drawing just disappear completely, and the rest doesn't explode. I did some reading and i'm thinking that i need to create blocks, and then the blocks will be what explode?

So my question is do i need to create blocks to do what i want to do?

And How do i create blocks from my drawing?

(Basically I want each beam to be able to separate and the roof to lift off in the exploded view)

Untitled.png

Explode is used for a different purpose then creating exploded views.

You will have to create the views by moving your items apart one at a time.

If they are 3d solids they need to separated in order to move them apart from one another.

Use "SOLIDEDIT" command to separate them.

KC

I'm assuming the roof was not "unioned" to the beams and remains a separate entity, correct?

I'm also assuming that each column/beam/kneebrace has been unioned, correct? If so, the Separate command will not work on them. You would either have to Slice them, which would take some doing, or recreate them as individual entities.

Re: Explode command. From AutoCAD Help file:

"Explodes a compound object when you want to modify its components separately. Objects that can be exploded include blocks, polylines, and regions, among others."

3D Solid

"Explodes planar faces into regions. Nonplanar faces explode into surfaces."