+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Drawing file not valid

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi

    Had been working on dwg, in autocad 06.

    When I go to open it, it says drawing file is not valid.

    It comes up in preview window but won't open,

    any ideas.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,140

    Default

    Try opening it using the RECOVER command.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default drawing file not valid

    Can' open it with recover command.

    Varible settings ok

  4. #4
    Senior Member Car5858's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Car5858's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7
    Computer:
    Gateway Sx2800-3
    CPU:
    Intel Quad Core 2.33
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    Intel 4500
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate 500 gb
    Secondary Storage:
    Passport usb 500 gb
    Monitor:
    HANNspree 22"
    Discipline
    See details...
    Car5858's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    retired, disibality
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Tutor, AMA glider competitions.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hammond
    Posts
    373

    Default

    If you have a back up file you can rename it, make sure you use the .dwg file extension, then open up the renamed back up file. It will not have new info added after the automatic save.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,140

    Default

    Is it possible that someone else opened this file with a newer version and saved in 2007 format?
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default drawing file not valid

    I was able to use back up file but lost some work.

    The problem occured when I closed down the dwg & couldn't save the changes.

    It went to read only.

    It wasn't a read only dwg, & wasn't set as read only in properties.

    This has occured in past with other dwgs.

    thanks

  7. #7
    Luminous Being alanjt's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6,199

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan View Post
    I was able to use back up file but lost some work.

    The problem occured when I closed down the dwg & couldn't save the changes.

    It went to read only.

    It wasn't a read only dwg, & wasn't set as read only in properties.

    This has occured in past with other dwgs.

    thanks
    I've seen that happen if there's a hang-up with the server. Do you work directly off one?
    DropBox
    Seann: ...it went crazy ex-girlfriend on me...
    eric_monceaux...its pretty funny seeing two AutoCAD Gods give each other flak...

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Unsure, very large organisation

  9. #9
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    I posted this a few times on this forum: try to Partial Open the damaged file. Play around with those settings to see if you are lucky enough!
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    577

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    Is it possible that someone else opened this file with a newer version and saved in 2007 format?

    I used to have this occur on me several times.

    Someone over there in the building is on a whole different format, exited a half hour after saving a file as an earlier version, but ....

    Why, why, I saved it as your version, why didn't it keep?



    I can see it in the little preview window, but cannot go forward from there.

    Wm.

Similar Threads

  1. Drawing file is not valid
    By solofusion in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st Mar 2011, 06:37 pm
  2. 'Drawing file not valid'
    By Tiger in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 31st Oct 2009, 10:50 pm
  3. Drawing file is not valid....
    By rbeldua in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th May 2009, 09:48 am
  4. Drawing file is not valid
    By Tin in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2009, 10:47 pm
  5. Drawing File is Not Valid
    By NiceGuy8618 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd Jul 2008, 06:12 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts