Scaling

Webbo86

Hello,

I've been using AutoCAD for a couple of months now, all self taught, and ive been asked to produce a drawing at a scale of 1:50.

I've produced the drawing to scale in the model view, but how do i scale it down to 1:50 to put into my layouts?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• gsksun4

• ReMark

• bonehead411

• sparkyuk

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Create a viewport in your layout. Apply the scale to the viewport. Model space objects should be drawn full size and not scaled up or down.

I have a A1 template or what ever size paper I require and all I do is to doulble click inside of my viewport, then select what i want to have in my view port, then in the pull down in my viewports tab *(see attached picture)select what ever scale i want and bobs your uncle its done,

I dont know if this is the correct way but works for me :D

scale.jpg

I do it much the same way. I find that many people do not have the Viewports toolbar enabled however. In that case another option is to use the Mview command to create the viewport(s). A viewport scale factor can be entered via the Zoom command's Scale option. It takes the form of nXP.

Since the OP have 2010, when the Viewport is highlighted (clicked on), the current zoom factor can be seen and altered at a box at the bottom right of the screen. It works like the Viewport toolbar, but with Ribbon active, toolbars at least imo don't fit in.

I do it much the same way. I find that many people do not have the Viewports toolbar enabled however. In that case another option is to use the Mview command to create the viewport(s). A viewport scale factor can be entered via the Zoom command's Scale option. It takes the form of nXP.