+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default man.. going nuts.. setting up autocad 2011

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    i never had to set up the autocad because they were always set up properly by other people (teachers at school).
    now i installed autocad 2011 (i was using 2008 before), every time i try to open a drawing, it complains all the time saying it's missing font, hatch pattern etc.

    can someone please tell me how to properly set this up?
    i have whole bunch of these files i got from my company:
    shx (font)
    pat (hatch)
    lin (line)
    lsp (don't know what they are for)
    ctb (something to do with plotting i guess)

    please tell me where to put them on autocad 2011,
    thank you.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,122

    Default

    Are the font, hatch and line type files custom made?

    The file type lsp is used by AutoCAD Lisp files.

    The file type ctb is a color-dependent plot style file.

    By the way, what OS are you running? And is it 32-bit or 64-bit? Thanks.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default

    yes, i believe those are our company's own files (custom).
    i'm using windows vista home premium... not sure if it's 32bit or 64bit.. but i think it's 32bit.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,122

    Default

    You have a couple of choices. You can keep everything in a "company" folder (recommended) or parcel everything out to their respective AutoCAD folders. The downside to the latter is if you ever had to uninstall AutoCAD you would lose the custom files.

    If you decide to keep everything in a company folder then you'll need to tell AutoCAD where to find the files it is looking for. This "path" would be added to all the default paths AutoCAD uses. Take a look under Tools > Options > Files > Support File Search Path to see what I am referring to.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,122

    Default

    Example of a path:

    C:\program files\Company CAD Files

    I'd put everything in this one folder. Just to make life easier though you might want to put copies of your ctb (plot style files) in the folder that contains this line:

    ...autocad 2011\r18.1\enu\plotters\plot styles.

    Unfortunately, at the moment I don't have access to a 32-bit machine running AutoCAD that I can provide the beginning of the path. I'll have to switch computers.
    Last edited by ReMark; 12th Apr 2010 at 11:24 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default

    it's ok to lose the file. they are on the server.
    i need to parse and put each file in default autocad 2011 folders but i don't know where they are.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,122

    Default

    I think this is where your ctb files would go:

    C:\Documents and Settings\your computer name here\Application Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2011\R18.1\enu\Plot Styles

    I say "think" because with the 2010 release AutoDesk may have changed the locations that's why I told you to check Tools > Options > Files.

    For plot styles you would have to expand the entry for Printer Support File Path and then look in Plot Style Table Search Path.

    Then again, if everything is on the server why not just tell AutoCAD to go look there. I believe that would be much simpler wouldn't you?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default

    yes but i also need to take my laptop to home and work home sometimes so if i set autocad to look on the server, it won't work at home.
    do you know where i should put shx, pat, lin files and stuff?

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,122

    Default

    Without knowing exactly how AutoCAD 2011 32-bit sets up its default paths I'm reluctant to provide the following without a word of advice. That is PLEASE CHECK YOUR SUPPORT FILE SEARCH PATHS BEFORE PROCEEDING!"

    Fonts would go here:

    C:\program files\autocad 2011\fonts

    Lisp files could go here:

    C:\program files\autocad 2011\support

    Lin and Pat files could go here:

    C:\Documents and Settings\your computer name here\Application Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2011\R18.1\enu\support
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,122

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by dlxowhd View Post
    yes but i also need to take my laptop to home and work home sometimes so if i set autocad to look on the server, it won't work at home.
    do you know where i should put shx, pat, lin files and stuff?
    Again, why not just create a Company Folder and add it to the Support File Search Path on your laptop?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD 2011 Announced
    By CADTutor in forum News, Announcements & FAQ
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2010, 01:03 pm
  2. AutoCAD 2011 in 3 minutes
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2010, 01:40 am
  3. AutoCAD 2011 is here
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2010, 07:30 pm
  4. AutoCAD 2011 and many other Autodesk 2011 Products Released.
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2010, 02:46 pm
  5. AutoCAD 2011 Download it Now
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2010, 01:30 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts