+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default How do I rotate a 3D object to a unknown angle

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    I have a question about rotating an 3D box. This box has 2 holes that should connect to two cylinders that aren't in the usual XY-plane, they are in co-planair in YZ. What i did was the following, I moved the box with the basics of displacement to connect it to the first cylinder (which is ok now) and now I have to rotate that box using the X-axis (with the coordinates of the center of the first hole. How can i do this precise? I tried measuring the angle and rotating it then, but that isn't precise, how can i do it 'graphically'?

    I tried using the angle reference feature, but i don't get it, and it rotates my box in all sort of random directions

    Thanks in advance,
    Haegendoorn

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,481

    Default

    I'd give the ALIGN command a try.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I'd give the ALIGN command a try.
    It works Thanks

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,481

    Default

    Just another luck guess on my part. That's makes five correct answers this year. I'm on a roll!

    You're entirely welcomed. Glad to hear it worked out for you.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being alanjt's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6,149

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Just to add information to the thread:

    I've never used it, but I know there's 3DRotate.
    DropBox | finding the light...
    Seann: ...it went crazy ex-girlfriend on me...
    eric_monceaux...its pretty funny seeing two AutoCAD Gods give each other flak...

Similar Threads

  1. Extruding an object thats on an angle?
    By _GerG_ in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2009, 09:22 pm
  2. Unknown application object enablers
    By Doove in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Nov 2008, 06:33 pm
  3. Rotate Any Object/text?
    By pablo_aaron in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th Jul 2008, 05:38 am
  4. Rotate (x,y,z angle) command
    By Otaku Ichise in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st Jul 2007, 04:11 pm
  5. Rotate a 3D object
    By ChrisM in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Jan 2005, 09:03 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts