Inventor & related products frustrations

Hopinc

Hi Guys,

First of all let me introduce myself. I have been using CAD now for 36 years - S.D.R.C's I-Deas Master Modeller for 22 years, AutoCAD since R.10 and Inventor Pro. for the past 3 years.

Rencently I updated to Inventor Pro Suite 2011 with Publisher 2011 and Alias for Design 2011.

I have to say that I am so disappointed I have returned to my previous 2010 version of Inventor.

Inventor 2011 seems to be totally unstable when rendering and the number of times mine has crashed is unbeleivable. The standard lighting is not correct either. And yes, I have loaded all the latest device drivers.

I have also been unable to switch on perspective as the default view within the Application Options - it does not work. Inventor 2011 also seems to be slower than 2010, certainly when it is loading initially.

I was not pleased at having to purchase Alias for Design seperately in order to get "free from surfacing" - this has been available as standard in SolidWorks since 2009 and is also included within SolidEdge.

Publisher 2011: When an Inventor assembly is opened the colours do not translate as seen in Inventor - what's that about? This would be such a useful product if a little more attention had been paid to the details.

AutoCAD Mechanical 2011: When "dxfout" is typed at the command line the software should automatically change the .dwg file extension to .dxf but it does not?

These might appear to be minor irritations (except for the crashes), but you will all know how a small frustration can become a major time consuming issue when using CAD.

Frankly I don't think I would recommend anyone to migrate from 2010 to 2011 as this moment in time.

I would be most interested to hear from anyone that has had any similar experiences/frustrations?

Regards & best wishes.

Dave