+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    23

    Default 2D Section Styles Help

    Hello
    I have a building model that I am cutting sections for. The 2D section Styles that I have attached is "2D section Style 96" (it came with the program). This is what tells it what weights and such each line should be.

    I cut two sections, and for some reason, one is much lighter than the other, but I created them identically.

    I have attached a jpeg to show what I"m talkign about. The top one is much to light. Actually, now that I print it, I notice it's so light you can't even see it! But it's there, (and no, it's not a no-plot layer lol)

    thanks!


  2. #2
    Super Member MikeScott's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MikeScott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3400
    CPU:
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
    RAM:
    2046 Mb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290/ 256MB DDR2
    Primary Storage:
    ST3500418AS/ 500gb (450gb free)
    Monitor:
    DELL G2410 (24.0"vis)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    558

    Default

    is it being "screened"?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    23

    Default

    I'm not sure what that term means. (or how to find out if it is or not)

  4. #4
    Super Member MikeScott's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MikeScott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3400
    CPU:
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
    RAM:
    2046 Mb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290/ 256MB DDR2
    Primary Storage:
    ST3500418AS/ 500gb (450gb free)
    Monitor:
    DELL G2410 (24.0"vis)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    558

    Default

    I don't beleive screening is on 2004.. sorry.. I'm not much help.

    I can't think of anything else that might do this as I'm unfamiliar with the section style thing you used.

    Can you check what layers the lines are on, to ensure they're on the same layers and suchlike?

    Ugh.. just realized what section your question is in.. just disregard.. I'm not familiar with the Vertical products. I was using the "quick links" to find new posts. Sorry about that.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northglenn, Colorado
    Posts
    713

    Default

    did you check to see that the plot style is set to the AIA standard? The default lineweights set in the section and elevation styles are based on the AIA layer standard.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    23

    Default

    I think I have it 'good enough" for now. I need it to use our standard stb file. It just seems strange that a section cut one way would be different than a section cut another way.
    I"m still learning so I'm sure at some point I'll have an "aha!" moment about what I was doing wrong.
    thanks!

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northglenn, Colorado
    Posts
    713

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by cadgal View Post
    I think I have it 'good enough" for now. I need it to use our standard stb file. It just seems strange that a section cut one way would be different than a section cut another way.
    I"m still learning so I'm sure at some point I'll have an "aha!" moment about what I was doing wrong.
    thanks!
    your welcome Welcome to the learning curve of ACA lol its a steep one. You might need to set up your own custom section style to meet your linetype needs. It is not all to hard once you figure out how to assign your construct items colors to line weights once the 2d section / elevation is cut.

    When setting up our office styles, I had to completely throw all of the out of box styles to match the line weights and layer names the office uses.

    Ask as many questions as you need, there are quite a few regular ACA users that fly around these forums

Similar Threads

  1. autocad cross section and long section
    By haseebsarwar42 in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st Sep 2012, 09:55 am
  2. 3ds section
    By pov in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 18th Mar 2009, 02:12 am
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2006, 06:10 pm
  4. AutoCAD LT text styles/CTB styles not loading....
    By tzframpton in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2006, 04:48 pm
  5. dim styles
    By allanp in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th Apr 2004, 08:35 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts