+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    44

    Default Invisible viewport?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Greetings,

    I have a drawing where the viewport is invisible and I can't actually view it. I can view what is inside the vport, I can double click inside it and edit the drawing in modelspace through it. But even with all layers turned on with full visibility I can't see the viewport in order to move or edit it.

    Can anybody help?

    Many thanks.

    BB.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    You can select it though (with a crossing window) right?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Nope, I'm afraid not. The actual viewport line does not appear to be visible at all.

  4. #4
    Full Member merdrignac's Avatar
    Computer Details
    merdrignac's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows xp
    Computer:
    HP
    RAM:
    3G
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Devon, England
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Is The layer the viewport's on frozen or off?
    It's not knowing the answers that's important. It's knowing where to find the answers.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Nope, all layers are turned on, nothing is frozen.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Problem solved. In the layer control manager the vport layer was frozen in the 'current vport freeze' column which was outside of the visible layer manager all the way to the right, I had to scroll all the way over to get to see it and then turn it back on.

    Cheers.
    Guys.

    BB.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Another example of an OIE (Operator Inflicted Error).

    If it wasn't for OIE's we'd cut out 50% of the questions posted here.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    1

    Smile invisible viewport

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by BuntyBunty View Post
    Problem solved. In the layer control manager the vport layer was frozen in the 'current vport freeze' column which was outside of the visible layer manager all the way to the right, I had to scroll all the way over to get to see it and then turn it back on.

    Cheers.
    Guys.

    BB.
    That's it!
    Now I can manage that ghost viewport.
    Thank you guys

Similar Threads

  1. Invisible Attributes
    By grain in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2008, 02:30 pm
  2. Layer Invisible
    By cpriedel in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2008, 05:44 pm
  3. Invisible features
    By agrobuveur in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th Jul 2006, 12:15 pm
  4. Invisible text
    By careyc in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Oct 2004, 12:51 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts