+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 70
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default Double Trouble! (Help on Double Doors Drawing)

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi All!
    I have an assignment that my Instructor decided to make harder by leaving specific things for us to decide, rather than give us guidelines, which is fine I guess, but i am kinda lost.

    I'm not asking anyone to do it for me, I would just like some guidance and clarification, I'd greatly appreciate it.

    I really think i need a regular contact to help me through this stuff, I.E. MSN/AIM/GTalk.

    DANA, are you out there?!


    There are many different ways to create geometry. This example may not be the best nor the fastest, but it works, is easy to understand, and is accurate.

    Draw the double door symbol. Use A size paper and create the double door symbol. Use figure 6.27 on page 156 as a guide, making the wall sections 6" thick, and the doors 2'-6" wide. YOU need to determine the limits (remember, do NOT scale the geometry). YOU need to determine what layers to create.

    Since the dimensions on this symbol were intentionally vague, it was up to you to create the symbol. In a case like this try setting an appropriate object snap, and creating your geometry in such a way you can use the snap points. In this example several construction lines (red) were first created, all on snap points. Using the construction lines will insure the two arcs will be the same size. Next use the 3 point arc option to create the two arcs as needed. Don't be afraid to create construction lines. Construction geometry is very easy to delete, or you can simply turn the construction layer off.

    like i stated earlier in my post, i do not want anyone to do it for me obviously, just a little help ^.^.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    What specific questions do you have?

    Obviously you'll have a layer for the walls and another for the doors plus one for your dimensions.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Rebel's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    139

    Default

    What part of the drawing is giving you trouble?

    edit: beaten by Remark

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Yea, pretty much that, the layers, it specified that i could use a previous drawing that i used in another unit, but it doesn't say which one...

    I'll try to figure it out from here, but m ost likely, i am going to be back >.< lol

    Thank you!

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Are these wood or metal doors?

    Do you need to adjust the opening to include the wood or metal door casings?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Are these wood or metal doors?

    Do you need to adjust the opening to include the wood or metal door casings?
    I am not entirely sure, It wasn't specified, regarding what type of material it would be, basically all that i listed in my opening post is what i was given. Sorry

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    OK. Are the walls going to be wood framed or masonry (brick/block)?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    References you may wish to consult:

    Architectural Graphic Standards by Ramsey & Sleeper.

    Architectural Design & Drafting by Jefferis & Madsen.

    Technical Graphics Communication by Bertoline & Webe.

    How to Build a House by Haun.

    Residential Framing by Sterling.

    Just to name a few.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    OK. Are the walls going to be wood framed or masonry (brick/block)?
    lol that wasn't specified either, can i um.. *whisper* can i make that part up?

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Can you make that part up?

    I suppose so given the leeway your instructor has left you. Toss a coin.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. remove double lines from drawing(lines,polylines,text)
    By cadamrao in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th Apr 2010, 02:35 pm
  2. Drawing lines and spline with double sided arrows
    By geocad in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2008, 04:37 pm
  3. Double Click Trouble
    By Scotle in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Apr 2008, 11:36 am
  4. Drawing Double lines
    By shunter in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Nov 2005, 02:50 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts