+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Default Fraction Format With Dimension Text Override

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am using the following in the text override field for a dimension:

    3'-8\S1/2"


    And this creates 3'-8 1/2" with the fraction as a horizontal format. What I want is a diagonal format for the fraction. What is the proper syntax for this.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being alanjt's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6,199

    Default

    Like this (forgot the hyphen)?

    DIM.PNG

    You can just type the "1/2", highlight>right-click>choose Stack. Is this what you are trying to accomplish?
    DropBox
    Seann: ...it went crazy ex-girlfriend on me...
    eric_monceaux...its pretty funny seeing two AutoCAD Gods give each other flak...

  3. #3
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Default

    Thanks but that doesn't really work in my application. I'm making this text entry in the text override window of the properties window.

    The attached file shows what I'm talking about. I would like for the fraction in the dimension appear like the diagonal fraction in the text. Right now the only way I can get the fraction in the dimension is to use the text override feature and this ends up with a horizontal fraction, not a diagonal one.
    Attached Images
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  4. #4
    Super Member MikeScott's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MikeScott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3400
    CPU:
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
    RAM:
    2046 Mb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290/ 256MB DDR2
    Primary Storage:
    ST3500418AS/ 500gb (450gb free)
    Monitor:
    DELL G2410 (24.0"vis)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    558

    Default

    This'll do it: 3'-8\S1#2"

  5. #5
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Default

    Ah, I now see how it's done. Thanks guys. This is going to make my life simpler in the future.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Help with creating own stack dimensions.

    Bill - Thank you for this post, but I have a question::

    Did you ever figure out how to get out of fraction mode?

    Ie. You typed... 3'-8\S1#2"

    How do you get the inches (quotation mark), which stays at the bottom of the 1/2", and get it back up in line with everything else?

    Thanks for your help on this!

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by will_the_arch View Post
    bill - thank you for this post, but i have a question::

    Did you ever figure out how to get out of fraction mode?

    Ie. You typed... 3'-8\s1#2"

    how do you get the inches (quotation mark), which stays at the bottom of the 1/2", and get it back up in line with everything else?

    Thanks for your help on this!
    3'-8\s1#2;"

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2008
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I realize this is an old thread and apologize but...

    Thanks for the info, all very helpful. Hopefully you can help a bit more:
    Is it possible to have the fraction scale down to 70% as is done in non-overridden fractional dimensions and MTEXT? As-is, this works well but looks a bit off if this technique is used in conjunction with 'actual' fractional dimensions.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    You can use the text editor on dimension text with _DDEDIT.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  10. #10
    Luminous Being alanjt's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6,199

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    You can use the text editor on dimension text with _DDEDIT.
    or type "ED"
    DropBox
    Seann: ...it went crazy ex-girlfriend on me...
    eric_monceaux...its pretty funny seeing two AutoCAD Gods give each other flak...

Similar Threads

  1. Dimension Lisp that promts a text override.
    By MikeP in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2009, 05:11 pm
  2. Copy dimension to text override
    By MikeT in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 26th Jan 2009, 10:27 am
  3. Override dimension
    By mdbdesign in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Mar 2007, 03:14 am
  4. Text Override with fraction
    By edwin in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Jan 2006, 03:35 pm
  5. %%201, %%202 and so on.... Fraction Dimension
    By richjenn03 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2005, 10:51 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts