designing a piston head

andyx181x

Hey there folks, I'm a manufacturing engineer senior working a senior project that involves making a casted aluminum piston head. I've only had experience using solidworks but its been two years since I've done the class and I could really use the help is someone would take the time to go step by step in making it.

Are you going to be using solidworks or AutoCAD. Either way I would probably start with a profile to revolve...

KC

Are you going to be using solidworks or AutoCAD. Either way I would probably start with a profile to revolve...

KC

Most likely solid works since thats the one I have the most experience with, what I am worried about trying is the inside of the piston head; where the pin that holds the head and rod together

Most likely solid works since thats the one I have the most experience with, what I am worried about trying is the inside of the piston head; where the pin that holds the head and rod together

Should be quick work with Solidworks. I am an Inventor person myself, however, it's basically the same.

I drew this up in a couple of mins. crude but you can get an idea.

piston.png

I revolved it but it's probably easier if you just made a solid cylinder, shelled it then added the bosses for the pin holes and then revolve cut for the ring slots.

KC

Hey andy, do you have any sketches of the piston? Is there anything special about it? 4 stroke or 2 stroke?. In the ring groove for the bottom ring(oil scraper ring, looks like a wave) there will be oil passages. These oil passages also go to the wrist pin. Here is a good cutaway I found.

piston.jpg