+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7

    Default Dimensions on a isometric circle

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Currently using autoCAD 2009. The problem i am having is that i can't find a way to annotate the radius or circum of a isometric circle.

    Is there any to do this? thanks

  2. #2
    Super Member MikeScott's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MikeScott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3400
    CPU:
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
    RAM:
    2046 Mb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290/ 256MB DDR2
    Primary Storage:
    ST3500418AS/ 500gb (450gb free)
    Monitor:
    DELL G2410 (24.0"vis)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    558

    Default

    I suggest you fake it with a Qleader and manually put the dimensions on there.

    To you, that's a circle shown on an angle.

    To AutoCAD it's an ellipse which isn't really a circle or arc in it's book, it holds multiple faked radius measurements, rather than just the radius/diameter you used to make it with.

    If you manually measure it, you'll notice that the distance from centerpoint to edge is going to give you a different radius depending upon the angle of your line.

    The Circumference isn't going to show up either.. Even if it did.. it'd be the circumference of an isometric circle, not of the actual circle you intended to get those measurements from.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    I don't know of any good way of doing this in AutoCAD. If your work in mechanical this is automatic in Inventor.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  4. #4
    Super Member MikeScott's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MikeScott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3400
    CPU:
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
    RAM:
    2046 Mb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290/ 256MB DDR2
    Primary Storage:
    ST3500418AS/ 500gb (450gb free)
    Monitor:
    DELL G2410 (24.0"vis)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    558

    Default

    The other way is to do it in 3d, and view it from an isometric angle... Then the circle dimensioning commands will work.

    JD? Does Inventor supports isometric drawing, or did you mean do it in 3d in Inventor?

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    shaikhrulez's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Core 2 Duo
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    2

    Default

    There is a way to measure ISOMETRIC circle .. !! 1st make a line from the centre of the circle and extend it out of the Quardent point of the circle .. then you will be able to measure the radius of that circle . !!

  6. #6
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shaikhrulez View Post
    There is a way to measure ISOMETRIC circle .. !! 1st make a line from the centre of the circle and extend it out of the Quardent point of the circle .. then you will be able to measure the radius of that circle . !!
    Can you post an example illustrating this technique?
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    shaikhrulez's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Core 2 Duo
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Here i was made a Isocircle having Radius of 12. and you can see how can i check the radius.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by shaikhrulez; 17th Jan 2011 at 10:36 am.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    That is pretty ugly if you ask me. I would rather use a call out.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    They said CHECK the size, not show dimensions. Shouldn't be necessary if it is your own drawing.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  10. #10
    Super Member fahim108's Avatar
    Computer Details
    fahim108's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Computer:
    HP Pavilion dv5000
    Discipline
    Architectural
    fahim108's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    501

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    A vertical (linear) dimension should be easier to snap rather than a 30° rotated dimension; and moreover, it doesn't look that ugly...

    isocircle_radius.png

Similar Threads

  1. Circle-Isometric Snap
    By Shibuboss in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 26th Aug 2009, 01:41 am
  2. Dimensions in isometric
    By DODGE in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2nd Apr 2009, 10:25 pm
  3. Dimensions for Isometric Objects
    By happyunited in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th Jul 2008, 12:53 am
  4. ...draw isometric dimensions?
    By Skins in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd May 2007, 11:15 am
  5. Circle in isometric projection/drawing.
    By whel_13 in forum Catch All
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th May 2003, 04:46 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts