+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2009
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Creating accurate dimensions between lines,rectangles etc.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey

    I have problem in creating accurate dimensions between objects like lines and rectangles etc. For example I want to move the rectangle A to the 1000 mm away from the line B. I have tried the move button but it seems to move objects randomly. In move-action i write 1000 to y-axis but then when I create linear dimension the distance seems to be like 1173,32. So what have I done wrong? Help please, this gets quite frustrating

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,074

    Default

    Select the object you want to move. Start dragging it in the direction you want to go. At the command line type in the distance. Done.

    Watch what you use for your base point.

    You are not creating a dimension. You are specifying an exact distance.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Independent Architectural Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Residential Homes, Construction and Renovation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chuluota, Florida
    Posts
    3,134

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by martikka View Post
    Hey

    I have problem in creating accurate dimensions between objects like lines and rectangles etc. For example I want to move the rectangle A to the 1000 mm away from the line B. I have tried the move button but it seems to move objects randomly. In move-action i write 1000 to y-axis but then when I create linear dimension the distance seems to be like 1173,32. So what have I done wrong? Help please, this gets quite frustrating
    The Move command is relative to the base point you select.
    Is the rectangle already 173.22 units away from the line before the move? If so, your move increment should have been 826.78 units.

    Also, use either ortho or polar tracking so you can see that your move path is along the axis you wish it to be as you move the cursor.

    Is this below what you are doing?

    Select rectagle A to move. It asks for a base point. Select the point on line B you want to move from. Slide the cursor in the direction you want it to move and type 1000, then hit enter.

    The rectangle will then move to a point 1000 units further away from line B, rather than exactly 1000 units away from line B.
    Yogi Berra: "In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

Similar Threads

  1. Disappearing lines and dimensions
    By fohlmann in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th Mar 2010, 02:10 pm
  2. accurate sketch up dimensions?
    By The_Cad_Kid in forum SketchUp
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th Dec 2009, 04:51 am
  3. offset 2 lines add dimensions and tag
    By gazzalp in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 18th Dec 2008, 12:35 pm
  4. Retrieve dimensions when creating a drawing
    By drkucho in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16th Jun 2007, 10:16 pm
  5. Creating objects/Dimensions
    By Alex Beardshaw in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Sep 2006, 04:09 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts