+ Reply to Thread
Page 16 of 18 FirstFirst ... 6 14 15 16 17 18 LastLast
Results 151 to 160 of 171
  1. #151
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I took a night class in late 1988 for AutoCAD and the first few nights I was thinking how I could draft faster than this computer stuff. Then we were shown the array command and then the block command and I saw the light right then and there. I knew that I had better learn all I could about this AutoCAD because this was going to be life changing.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  2. #152
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,571

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tzframpton View Post
    Somebody seriously said this to you in 2005? Wow, how naive can someone be. I would have taken that bet if I were you.
    No small wonder that I only worked for that company for 2 months before getting the h@ll out of there! I just laughed it off and went back to my desk. Now if $$ was going to be involved...
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  3. #153
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,571

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rkent View Post
    I took a night class in late 1988 for AutoCAD and the first few nights I was thinking how I could draft faster than this computer stuff. Then we were shown the array command and then the block command and I saw the light right then and there. I knew that I had better learn all I could about this AutoCAD because this was going to be life changing.
    That and xrefs were more than 1 person can work on the same project at a time. What!!! Witchcraft I say!!!
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  4. #154
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Jman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 7
    Computer:
    hp Z420 workstation
    RAM:
    8.00 GB
    Monitor:
    (2) hp zr2440w
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Jman's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    I am a Draftsman for a Design-build company
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    I create working drawings for a Modular Building Company, Mostly Schools
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    32

    Default

    I don't think that in the past 20 years that I've ever had to start drawings from scratch.
    Most of the time I can find an existing floor plan or detail that I can saveas an modify to
    get what I need. I have my own folder that I put drawings that I might use later or even
    pieces of details or specialty items. On a funny note: I once drew some bathroom elevations
    in which I had drawn the toilet paper strewn all over the bathroom and I had the sink faucet
    on and the water overflowing onto the floor and I put graffiti on the walls. I also did some
    details in which I put ransom type text for lettering. I actually submitted the drawings to
    the Architect for review.

  5. #155
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,571

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jman View Post
    I don't think that in the past 20 years that I've ever had to start drawings from scratch.
    Most of the time I can find an existing floor plan or detail that I can saveas an modify to
    get what I need. I have my own folder that I put drawings that I might use later or even
    pieces of details or specialty items. On a funny note: I once drew some bathroom elevations
    in which I had drawn the toilet paper strewn all over the bathroom and I had the sink faucet
    on and the water overflowing onto the floor and I put graffiti on the walls. I also did some
    details in which I put ransom type text for lettering. I actually submitted the drawings to
    the Architect for review.
    Please find this and share with the group

    I have had to start from scratch a few times. I have have to draw up a few buildings here on campus that did not have any thing but paper prints. Still WAY faster than hand drafting.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  6. #156
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,534

    Default

    For concept stuff, I can think of a few peeps that are probably faster than cad.

    Also I know some detailers would give it a good run as well on small pieces.

    As to start from scratch, more than have my work would have a clean slate. -David
    Attached Images
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  7. #157
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,571

    Default

    Yeah that's sketching David, not drafting Most drafters I know couldn't "sketch" their way out of a wet paper bag. To me that is art and stands on it's own.

    Honestly with AutoCAD Architecture's (ADT) Detail Component Manager I would race them. Sure it takes the "knowledge" out of it but it is SUCH a time saver.
    Attached Images
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  8. #158
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,534

    Default

    I'm WAY out of practice, but at 1 time I did a lot metal flashings that worked well with lined graph paper. For the shop guys this was suffencient and made production pretty simple. The drawing followed the path from pulling the metal, shearing, bending and forming right to delivery.
    Attached Images
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  9. #159
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,571

    Default

    Oh yeah, that would be fine for them. No point in over doing it. You conveyed your design intention and they produced it. Everybody wins.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  10. #160
    Junior Member ParsonTim's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ParsonTim's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Architectural
    ParsonTim's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Online Drafting Teacher, Sheriff's Chaplain, part time deputy, Drafting now a side line.
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Actually I'm a general drafter with training in: Architecture Civil Industrial Layout Crime Scene Reconstruction Machine
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Athens, TN USA
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Holy smokes everybody. I still have everything mentioned in this thread, still in use next to my CAD station, (do we still call it that?) board included... Whenever I get ready to start building a drafting course, I actually draw it out from start to finish on the board... Then, when I'm happy with the result, it goes into CAD. Every single tool, or at least 99% of them, I have still in my arsenal with the exception of the blueprint machine. Call me redundant if you want, but it works for me.

    Now if I design a home, it's straight to the CAD from sketches and notes.
    Last edited by ParsonTim; 4th Jan 2016 at 03:43 pm. Reason: correct spelling

Similar Threads

  1. pls help - draughtsman descriptions
    By mtlndg in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11th Jan 2007, 06:13 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts