+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Circles/arcs turning into straight/jagged lines

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am having an issue with all my circles and arcs turning into straight line segments
    ex:
    a cirlce turns into a hexagon.
    Is there a command to fix this?
    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    300Gb, 10K rpm
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,808

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mccarthyk54751 View Post
    I am having an issue with all my circles and arcs turning into straight line segments
    ex:
    a cirlce turns into a hexagon.
    Is there a command to fix this?
    Thank you!
    Usually either
    VIEWRES needs to be set higher, (or you just need to regenall)
    or
    SHADEMODE needs to be set to 2D
    Confusion between than and then
    In writing, than and then are often erroneously interchanged. In standard English, then refers to time, while than is used in comparisons. Wikipedia.com

  3. #3
    Luminous Being alanjt's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6,137

    Default

    What about WhipArc?
    DropBox | finding the light...
    Seann: ...it went crazy ex-girlfriend on me...
    eric_monceaux...its pretty funny seeing two AutoCAD Gods give each other flak...

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,387

    Default

    Or even perhaps a simple Regen.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    578

    Default

    I got this problem too. It is noted in the BUG sheet mailed here years ago, and never completely resolved, in any version full or LT or whatever. You must be then working with a few polylines. We used to call this feature "Sucking In" as all the offending lines then go to inside of the curve.

    It does not happen if you EXPLODE the offending polyline, or do a quicky REGEN just after creating the work. If you do a few lines and then imediately exit the drawing, well look at it after your then come back or ship it off to another location. It all is changed. No amount of REGEN will fix it once it happens. One of my customers required me to do a quick regen befoe receiving any Autocad drawing via internet. Zip compressing does not fix it either.

    If the polyline is open ended (a non-circle) then often does not happen. I cut slots or fail to exactly link up every segmant of the polyline (on purpose) to avoid the sucking in feature.

    Wm.

  6. #6
    Super Member MikeScott's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MikeScott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3400
    CPU:
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
    RAM:
    2046 Mb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290/ 256MB DDR2
    Primary Storage:
    ST3500418AS/ 500gb (450gb free)
    Monitor:
    DELL G2410 (24.0"vis)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    558

    Default

    tesselation settings?

    Depends where you're getting the problem.. is it a viewing/plotting issue, an export to DXF issue, or a rendering issue?

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    It displays with the straight lines in model space and in paper space. I just need them to be curved in order to plot.
    I did the REGENALL and this helped a lot, but they are still a little jagged.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Independent Architectural Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Residential Homes, Construction and Renovation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chuluota, Florida
    Posts
    2,578

    Default

    Then that is probably just your display settings. That is not the same as the 'sucking in' issue. What's happening is AutoCAD is saving memory space for execution and point coordinates locations until you stop drawing stuff and do a regen all.

    Go to Tools > Options > Display > Display Resolution.

    I set my Arc and Circle smoothness to 1000 and my polyline curve segments to 8 and I don't have a big issue with the drawing appearance after a regen.

    Also, make sure your screen resolution in "WINDOWS" is set to the correct one per your monitor's capabilities.

    None of my above has any effect on plotting, the objects will plot smooth with any plot quality level better than draft.
    Last edited by Dana W; 10th May 2010 at 05:00 pm. Reason: cuz my spillcheeker is broked!
    Yogi Berra: "In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

  9. #9
    Super Member MikeScott's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MikeScott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3400
    CPU:
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
    RAM:
    2046 Mb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290/ 256MB DDR2
    Primary Storage:
    ST3500418AS/ 500gb (450gb free)
    Monitor:
    DELL G2410 (24.0"vis)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    558

    Default

    yeah.. Dana's right. When you print, they'll correct themselves.. that's just a display issue.

  10. #10
    Luminous Being alanjt's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6,137

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeScott View Post
    yeah.. Dana's right. When you print, they'll correct themselves.. that's just a display issue.
    WhipArc will correct plotting problems. I had to fix this in Civil 3D (pipes were displaying at polygons instead of ellipses).
    DropBox | finding the light...
    Seann: ...it went crazy ex-girlfriend on me...
    eric_monceaux...its pretty funny seeing two AutoCAD Gods give each other flak...

Similar Threads

  1. Fire Engine Turning Circles
    By nman in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2010, 03:28 am
  2. Arcs and Circles
    By aldawn in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th Nov 2009, 11:34 am
  3. Smooth out arcs and circles in 3ds
    By nocturne00 in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2009, 06:08 pm
  4. Help w/ Arc's, Circles, mine look jagged
    By TREX in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2009, 01:17 am
  5. arcs print jagged
    By phonhead in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 9th Aug 2007, 09:34 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts