+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Berkeley
    Posts
    5

    Default Problem sharing pc3 files on network

    I recently created a folder on the network with "clean" pc3 files that are saved as read only files. They work fine on my computer where they were created however on other computers the custom paper size doesn't show up correctly. The pmp files are also saved on the network in the plotters folder. Each pc3 file is setup for a specific sheet size to print a pdf using the Adobe PDF Converter. Why do the same pc3 files appear different on other computers? Is there an easier way to create standard print setups for the office to share? Any help is appreciated...

  2. #2
    Luminous Being alanjt's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6,137

    Default

    It's so simple, but are you pathing to the correct folder?
    DropBox | finding the light...
    Seann: ...it went crazy ex-girlfriend on me...
    eric_monceaux...its pretty funny seeing two AutoCAD Gods give each other flak...

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Berkeley
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Yes, I checked the printer paths and they are all pointed to the same folder...

  4. #4
    Luminous Being alanjt's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6,137

    Default

    Post one of the problematic .pc3 files and a screen shot of what it 'should' look like.
    DropBox | finding the light...
    Seann: ...it went crazy ex-girlfriend on me...
    eric_monceaux...its pretty funny seeing two AutoCAD Gods give each other flak...

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Berkeley
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Attached is a correct and incorrect screenshot along with the pc3 and pmp files.
    Attached Files

  6. #6
    Luminous Being alanjt's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6,137

    Default

    Bahh, I can't check it because I don't have your PDf converter.
    Hmm... punt.
    DropBox | finding the light...
    Seann: ...it went crazy ex-girlfriend on me...
    eric_monceaux...its pretty funny seeing two AutoCAD Gods give each other flak...

  7. #7
    Super Member Pablo Ferral's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    629

    Default

    The path to the PMP file is held inside the pc3 file. If you created them on your local machine and then moved them this path will be broken. You will need repair this path in your PC3 files to get them working again.

    The soloution is to create the pc3 files directly onto your network in the first place!
    Attached Images

  8. #8
    Super Member MikeScott's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MikeScott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3400
    CPU:
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
    RAM:
    2046 Mb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290/ 256MB DDR2
    Primary Storage:
    ST3500418AS/ 500gb (450gb free)
    Monitor:
    DELL G2410 (24.0"vis)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    558

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Perhaps you're not using the same printers/ printer drivers, and/or Operating System?

Similar Threads

  1. Sharing dwg files without layout tabs
    By Siberian in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st Jul 2008, 01:00 pm
  2. Very slow saving of files over network
    By patrickh in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th Mar 2008, 05:46 am
  3. Sharing Specific Support Files Only!
    By PIERCE in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2008, 06:22 pm
  4. Problem with sharing
    By CADgirl in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20th Nov 2007, 09:37 am
  5. creating network backup files on PC
    By Strix in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th Nov 2005, 03:34 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts