+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
  1. #11
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,558

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    a demo...

    this is what we have (top)
    and this is as far as I have got (lower)
    you can see I have un-hidden a couple of attributes that I am hoping to get involved in the future but at the moment they only contain what is showing on the wire.

    I have found a report that (almost) gives what we want but I wanted it on the drawing..
    Attached Images
    Last edited by dbroada; 18th May 2010 at 03:26 pm. Reason: drawings fell off (I think)
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,728

    Default

    Terminal numbers - both ends.

    I'm a tutorial away from one entitled Terminals, Multiple Level Terminals and Jumpers. I wonder if it might be covered there.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Senior Member cadvision's Avatar
    Computer Details
    cadvision's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win7
    Computer:
    DELL inspiron
    CPU:
    i7-3632QM CPU @2.2GHz
    RAM:
    8GB
    Primary Storage:
    1TB
    Monitor:
    aoc 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    cadvision's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Software distributor, contract drafting/scanning
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Electro/Mechanical Drafty since Drawing Board. Mainly work in Petrochemical and Dairy Industries. Specialise in Maintenace, Process and I&E
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    199

    Default

    I've always done my schematics in model space and then titleblocks in layout. Can tweek the viewing scale when needed

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Using
    Inventor 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    384

    Default

    Here is a sample of the books we write. We also do web based training. Its a lot better than the Autodesk ones and was actually written and proofed by Electrical Engineers.

    I'll keep in my dropbox for no less than 5 days, after that I can't promise it will be there: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4015397/Asce...%20Preview.pdf

    Also here is a great link to the guy who is the father of AutoCAD Electrical, great guy too by the way, I have met him a couple times and used to have him on speed dial when he used to work for Autodesk (not self employed).

    http://nateholt.wordpress.com/
    Mark Flayler
    Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
    Blog: http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
    Partner Certified, Inventor Certified Expert

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Using
    Inventor 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    384

    Default

    Back on topic with Layouts and Models Space... I see this done 50/50 in industry with this software. If someone is actually building the cabinet and not just referencing it they traditionally do the documentation in Layouts so the scale is right. So many just throw components into the cab and they are no where near the right sizing, they just do it for the reference and tagging. So this really comes down to a company matter. If you have no reason to show scale, keep it all in Model, if you need to show scale, do it in a Layout with correct Viewports.
    Mark Flayler
    Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
    Blog: http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
    Partner Certified, Inventor Certified Expert

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,728

    Default

    The majority of my work will be schematics. The electrical engineer, who will be learning ACADE as well, will be doing panel and cabinet layouts. The engineer is giving me a hard time about drawing sizes. He wants something small (11x17) the electricians can take in the field. I want something larger so I can get 2 or 3 ladders per sheet instead of 1. I've suggested using layouts. Everything in model space but the titleblock and border. Five layouts: one at 24x36; four at 11x17 representing the upper left quadrant, lower left quadrant, upper right quadrant and lower right quadrant. Taking the entire sheet in the field would be a matter of printing the four quadrant layouts. What do people think of that idea?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,728

    Default

    An update:

    I've received that book by CADCIM Technologies I mentioned in a previous post. It is entitled AutoCAD Electrical 2010 for Electrical Control Designers. I've decided to tackle the two Project drawings in Chapter 14. One is of a single phase wiring diagram and the other is a panel layout drawing.

    Thank you Mark Flayler for the two links you provided earlier. I have looked at them both. Nate Holt's blog contains a wealth of information.
    Last edited by ReMark; 8th Jun 2010 at 12:41 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #18
    Senior Member Cat's Avatar
    Using
    Electrical 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    147

    Default terminal number of both ends of the wire

    Quote Originally Posted by dbroada View Post
    no, that bit I can do.

    We don't have wire numbers but we mark both ends of the wire with the terminal number. We do this on our drawings and export the text to be printed on a heat shrink marker. We have been told (several times) that ACADE can't do exactly what we want (just the terminal number the wire is hanging on) but it can have the terminal number of both ends of the wire. This is what I am trying to do - without success. If youtrip over it at some time, let me know please.

    Is this what you were looking for?
    Attached Files

  9. #19
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,558

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cat View Post
    Is this what you were looking for?
    thanks, that is a bit more than I have seen before. I'm not sure I've seen the 2nd sheet before. I don't think they will give us what we want but I'll give it a try.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  10. #20
    Full Member Electroman7979's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Electroman7979's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    HP
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core (TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    2.4 GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX770M
    Primary Storage:
    149 GB
    Monitor:
    Samsun SyncMaster 226BW
    Using
    Electrical 2009
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    When I started using ACE a few years ago, I did everything in model space... including the title blocks. Now when doing a drawing, I have two templates-one for schmatic where the title block is in model space and the layout tab has one VP that covers all. And the second template is for panel/cabinet layout where there is no title block in model space, but on the layout tab. At which time we do individual VP when it has to be scaled and dimension. That makes it easy to print the project all at once printing all the layout 1 tabs. Something that was suggested to me recently was making the model space area for schematics a D size, that way when it prints on a 11X17 it looks cleaner.
    "The only measure of what you believe is what you do. If you want to know what people believe, don't read what they write, don't ask them what they believe, just observe what they do."
    "What we do in life, echoes in Eternity"

Similar Threads

  1. drawing visible in layout space but not in model space
    By 3dsmaxed in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2009, 11:20 am
  2. Layout to model space
    By simo2006 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd Jun 2009, 04:00 pm
  3. model space <-> paper space in layout tabs
    By alijahed in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 18th Mar 2009, 04:19 am
  4. Layout/Model space and sheet sets
    By James in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 28th Nov 2006, 11:24 am
  5. Newbie needs help with model /paper space /layout question
    By dougpoll in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th May 2005, 12:27 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts