+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 58
  1. #21
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    That faceted top face could be constructed via Solidedit – Face – Extrude. The command sequence below created the attached file.

    Command: _box
    Specify first corner or [Center]: 0,0,0

    Specify other corner or [Cube/Length]: 4,9,1

    Code:
    Command:
    Command:
    Command: _solidedit
    Solids editing automatic checking:  SOLIDCHECK=1
    Enter a solids editing option [Face/Edge/Body/Undo/eXit] <eXit>: _face
    Enter a face editing option
    [Extrude/Move/Rotate/Offset/Taper/Delete/Copy/coLor/mAterial/Undo/eXit] <eXit>: 
    _extrude
    Select faces or [Undo/Remove]: 1 face found.
    
    
    Select faces or [Undo/Remove/ALL]:
    
    Specify height of extrusion or [Path]:1
    
    Specify angle of taper for extrusion <0>: 80
    
    
    Solid validation started.
    Solid validation completed.
    
    Enter a face editing option
    [Extrude/Move/Rotate/Offset/Taper/Delete/Copy/coLor/mAterial/Undo/eXit] <eXit>:
    
    Solids editing automatic checking:  SOLIDCHECK=1
    Enter a solids editing option [Face/Edge/Body/Undo/eXit] <eXit>:
    Attached Files

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    numberOCD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8770w
    RAM:
    16Gb
    Using
    MEP 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Chicago/New York USA
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Sorry for this rushed response but I have a flight in 2 hrs. But draw the cross-section of your handrail rectangular. Make a pline of the angle and the corner of the rectangle, making sure it's closed. extrude your rectangle the length of the handrail, then extrude the angular pline the same distance on both sides. Make a copy of the pline extrusion and rotate it 90 degrees with the corner of the the rectang extrusion as the axis. Subtract (command: _subtract), select the rectang extrusion, enter, then the three other extrusions, enter. You should have what you need right there.

    Let me know if you have problems, and I'll try to email you a sample dwg tomorrow. Good luck!

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    206

    Default

    How would I taper this object..

    hipped2.gif

    so that it looks like this

    hipped3.jpg


    Can you use slice>subtract for that? If so, how, I couldn't get it to work.

  4. #24
    Super Member kencaz's Avatar
    Computer Details
    kencaz's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro, Vista, Linux,W7
    Computer:
    HP,s Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    kencaz's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer/Machinist
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    759

    Default

    Yeah, you could use slice, however, it's probably easier just to extrude the rectangle with the taper option and do it in a single operation.

    taper.png

    KC
    Some of my AutoCAD and Inventor Pics and Videos...
    http://www.youtube.com/kencaz45



  5. #25
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    I did it (the sloped top) in four steps using Loft. I created a triangle. Rotated it 15 deg. Mirrored it. Then executed the Loft command.

    Other commands used were Pline, line (for reference), and copy.

    Note: On my home system I have no trouble seeing any of the images posted in this thread. There must be something amiss on my work system.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #26
    Super Member MikeScott's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MikeScott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3400
    CPU:
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
    RAM:
    2046 Mb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290/ 256MB DDR2
    Primary Storage:
    ST3500418AS/ 500gb (450gb free)
    Monitor:
    DELL G2410 (24.0"vis)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    558

    Default

    They need that "bead" (the curved bit) to go around the edge and end of the molding... here's my proposed solution: (if someone could illustrate the steps, or otherwise make it clearer, it would be appreciated.. I'm still out of the country at the moment)

    View the model from the top and set the UCS to match it. (ie- the top of the handrail, not the end profile)

    Draw a line starting from the endpoint on the lower edge of the handrail, ending at @2<45

    Copy that new line, from 0,0,0 to 0,0,2

    Change the view to look at it from an angle (ensuring your UCS doesn't move).

    Slice the handrail, using two points anywhere on that lower line, and one point anywhere on the new upper line. Press B to keep both halves.

    Mirror those lines you drew, and do the slice command again the other direction this time.

    Then Erase the unwanted "chunk" at the end of the handrail (the one with the flat bit you don't want).

    Then copy one of the resulting pie-slices, and rotate it -90 degrees. Using the endpoint at the top of the profile on that pie-slice, move it to the gap you made in the end of the handrail.

    For good luck (and use later) make a copy that pie slice off to the side somewhere.

    Use the union command to reconnect all the touching pieces of handrail.. leaving off that little extra good luck piece you put off to the side somewhere.

    DO NOT UNION the 45 degree turn in the handrail you modelled earlier with that extruded path thing, unless you use that same sort of directionless pattern you've got shown in your image. Otherwise, woodgrain patterns and stuff will look weird... the texture you add to it will not turn a corner unless you texture it seperately. If it's already unioned.. you'll need to use the slice command on it to seperate it again.. (or use that directionless pattern on it).

    To get that stone look, you'll need to look at rendering materials, and select an appropriate one.. or find an image of the surface you want to put on it.
    Last edited by MikeScott; 28th May 2010 at 01:19 am.

  7. #27
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    I believe the discussion was about the sloped top. The bead around the edge is a no brainer.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    206

    Default

    I've got the lines drawn where I would like to remove the wedge off the end. What should I do next?

    wedgehipped.gif

  9. #29
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    I'd say slice the sloped top clean off and do it over again.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #30
    Super Member MikeScott's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MikeScott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3400
    CPU:
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
    RAM:
    2046 Mb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290/ 256MB DDR2
    Primary Storage:
    ST3500418AS/ 500gb (450gb free)
    Monitor:
    DELL G2410 (24.0"vis)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    558

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Slice it using any points along those three lines. (Maximum of two points per line, so slice can tell where the slice needs to be).

    Remark says adding the bead to the end will be a no-brainer. I'm not doubting that, but I've done a lot of this stuff, and don't know of an easy way to do it, aside from cutting a wedge and stuffing it in there (like I described). I'm hoping someone will elaborate a bit... because that would certainly save me time in those instances.

Similar Threads

  1. One of these things is not like the other
    By sward in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th Feb 2008, 02:45 pm
  2. help on two things
    By Bobby in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Dec 2006, 06:24 pm
  3. A few things...
    By focus1 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th May 2006, 09:18 pm
  4. 2 things...can anyone help
    By doboy in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2003, 11:40 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts