+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default help in using (slice)

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    helloooooo
    please help me in slicing
    Attached Images
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    Boy, this problem looks very familiar. I believe we solved it already! LOL

    Have you tried using Slice with the Surface option?

    You're in luck this time. At least they gave you the angle (30 deg).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Member kencaz's Avatar
    Computer Details
    kencaz's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro, Vista, Linux,W7
    Computer:
    HP,s Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    kencaz's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer/Machinist
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    759

    Default

    yeah, I seem to remember helping someone with a very very similar problem... Must be same class.

    slice.jpg

    Anyway just extrude a line into a surface and slice...

    KC
    Some of my AutoCAD and Inventor Pics and Videos...
    http://www.youtube.com/kencaz45



  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default

    how?
    i tried but i couldnt

  5. #5
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kuwait View Post
    how?
    i tried but i couldnt
    Have you gone through the tutorials in my signature?

    Attach what you have completed so far.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  6. #6
    Super Member kencaz's Avatar
    Computer Details
    kencaz's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro, Vista, Linux,W7
    Computer:
    HP,s Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    kencaz's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer/Machinist
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    759

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kuwait View Post
    how?
    i tried but i couldnt
    Draw a line at the angle you want in a plan view. Extrude the line to a surface, then "Slice" using the surface option and separate.

    slice.gif

    KC
    Some of my AutoCAD and Inventor Pics and Videos...
    http://www.youtube.com/kencaz45



  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    kencaz: You make it look so simple.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Full Member CAD89's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CAD89's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte H81-D3
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4670K
    RAM:
    8 GB DDR3 Kingston at 1600 MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 660Ti Gainward Phantom 2GB 256bit
    Primary Storage:
    Lite-ON 250 GB SSD,
    Secondary Storage:
    2x Western Digital 250 GB
    Monitor:
    Fujitsu Siemens 22"
    Discipline
    Civil
    CAD89's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveying and Topography!
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania->Maramures->Baia Mare
    Posts
    35

    Default

    There is another way to do this than the slice command! You can use the rotate faces command! Here is what you need to do! You go to Modify>Solid editing>Rotate Faces, and then you follow the steps shown below:
    Attached Images

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    More than one way to skin a cat. Nice.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Also why to draw a line for slicing? You can enter 3 point's coords from the fly. If the UCS is like in CAD89's drawing, rotate it with -90deg. around OY (so X is along the extrusion direction).
    Click for the first point, somewhere on the base edge.
    @0,0,1 for the next point, and
    @1<120 for the third one.

    I wrote this because the question was about slicing. An other way to skin this cat: draw a box, rotate it in the right position and subtract it.
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

Similar Threads

  1. Slice Plane
    By nowikovs12 in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th Apr 2010, 07:56 pm
  2. Slice
    By IronHorse in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2009, 09:01 pm
  3. is slice right???
    By qball in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Nov 2007, 05:04 pm
  4. Slice
    By Gene in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2006, 03:53 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts