+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Opaque Mesh View?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have searched on this for quite some time-- I am putting it in the beginner's thread because I am new here and feel like it's a beginner question.

    Question: Is it possible to change the view (or object behavior) while editing meshes (on a sphere for example) so that you only see the mesh that's nearest? i.e. NOT the mesh on the OPPOSITE face?

    This is posing a problem for me because when trying to edit / snap etc... on the mesh intersections and faces nearest to my view, it autosnaps every so often to mesh parts that are actually on the other side of the object, making nearly impossible to just work on one side.

    Very frustrated but I feel the answer is probably simple and likely to make me feel stupid.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Peter

  2. #2
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,449

    Default

    Clipping Planes, as applied by the DVIEW command, should allow a setup like you describe.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    @SEANT:

    Thank you so much, this worked to get rid of the lines behind the face I wanted to be editing HOWEVER, I am a little confused with the DVIEW clipping... as soon as I try to begin editing the model, it jumps out of the perspective that I defined with the clipping. How do you lock the perspective to the defined DVIEW while still editing the object? Or is that not possible?
    Last edited by petermelias; 27th May 2010 at 09:10 pm. Reason: Realized solution was not complete

  4. #4
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,449

    Default

    Make sure you complete the DVIEW command sequence. Once you have manipulated the view to set a clipping plane, press ENTER once again to finalize the process. The command prompt should have printed:

    *** Returning to the UCS ***
    Regenerating model.

    before you attempt to manipulate any geometry.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yeah I feel stupid, thanks.

    Peter

Similar Threads

  1. transparency/ opaque 2004
    By Dan in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2nd Mar 2009, 08:56 am
  2. Opaque 2D surface
    By Swihfr01 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2008, 08:35 pm
  3. How to make an object opaque?
    By frostrap in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th May 2008, 01:43 pm
  4. Opaque Lines
    By jhiltibidal in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th Dec 2007, 02:40 pm
  5. how to make Viewport Opaque
    By salmoon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Nov 2006, 11:21 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts