+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    54

    Question Render Acceleration..?????

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi....theres a way to accelerated the Renders in autocad 2010...
    I have W7 Pro 64 bit with 500GB of HD and 8GB of Memory.....

  2. #2
    Full Member Dorian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dorian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Motherboard:
    Gigabye Z68AP-D3
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 2600K 3.4 Ghz
    RAM:
    16GB ram
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD7750
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi 320Gb
    Monitor:
    Acer P221w 22"
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dorian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    interior designer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    3ds Max 2012
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Macedonia
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Are you asking? or telling us?

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    54

    Wink Im asking....Can I accelerated Renders in autocad.????

    Quote Originally Posted by Dorian View Post
    Are you asking? or telling us?
    Im asking my friend....How can I accelerated renders in autocad 2010
    autocad make the render in Windows Bitmap image so...how can I accelerated the render...??? thats my QUESTION.....!!!!

  4. #4
    Senior Member iskalipsi's Avatar
    Discipline
    Architectural
    iskalipsi's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    designer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Office planning. Furniture design. Minor estimate of civil works.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    242

    Default

    Can you post a screenshot of what you are rendering and what is your render time? I think you're computer has a very good specs (compared to mine).
    Don't work too hard. Nobody notices anyway.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Viktorik's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 64bit Ultimate
    Motherboard:
    asus]
    CPU:
    i7 930
    RAM:
    6gb ripjaws
    Graphics:
    firegl v7700
    Monitor:
    acer gamer predator
    Using
    Architecture 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Central Europe
    Posts
    72

    Default

    you can overclock your cpu and memory, better using ffreeze/ watwer cooling, Do you made changes at render setting-> lightning, shadow...? may be there are some incredibles numbers

  6. #6
    Super Member MikeScott's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MikeScott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3400
    CPU:
    2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
    RAM:
    2046 Mb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290/ 256MB DDR2
    Primary Storage:
    ST3500418AS/ 500gb (450gb free)
    Monitor:
    DELL G2410 (24.0"vis)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    558

    Default

    The thing that slows down my renders a lot are the fact that I use a lot of different lights with attenuation calculations. If I switch them to no "attenuation" it's a strong speed boost.

    Another factor for me is the Shadow types in the light options for each light.. if I use "Shadow volumes/ray-traced shadows" it runs faster for me, and I prefer the shadow appearance that way anyways, due to how I use my lights.

    I tend to get an even stronger boost that way.

    The other thing is the shape complexity.. As you gain experience, you'll learn to model only the stuff that's going to be visible in the finished render (almost like rendering facades).

    You'll also be able to use modified image textures to cheat lights (called "image baking") and how to avoid making tiny little details in 3d that you can put onto the textures themselves.

    My BIGGEST speed increase comes when I do "Post work". Post work means post production work, which means I do some touching-up in photoshop (or GIMP a camparable image editor, but free) after I render stuff.

    I used to model every seam, with like small edge chamfers and fillets to be more realistic, but the extra faces cost processing time. Eventually, I stopped doing that, and simply added seam lines accurately in Paintshop Pro (my image editor of choice, due to price, and my non-awareness of GIMP at the time).

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Low poly count.

    One of the biggest keys to fast rendering is low poly count. If you place a cube in your scene and hit render, it will finish in about 1 second. But if you place a tree next to that cube and hit render, it may take 1 minute. And if you place 10 trees next to that cube it may take 10 minutes to render because trees are very complex and poly heavy models. So, if you are rendering the front of a building, there is no reason to model details on the back side because they will never be seen. Only model what you need.

    If you want fast render times, you need a decent computer and you need to optimize your models so that you have the fewest poly faces that you can get away with. If your models are overly complex and highly detailed, you can expect longer render times. Use materials, whenever possible, to simulate detail. From a distance you cannot tell the difference between a mapped material and modeled geometry.

    Shiny and reflective materials, like chrome or mirrors, will increase render times since reflections have to be calculated.

    Shadows also increase render times because of the calculations involved. And when you couple shadows along with a high poly model, like a tree, the render time increases even more because of the extra calculations involved.

    Bump maps and displacement maps increase render times also, so if you can get away with it, don't use these maps. Like if you have a brick wall that's far away from the camera, there is absolutely no reason to bump map that wall. You are just needlessly increasing your render time.

    Other things to consider are image size and render quality. How big does your rendered image really need to be and how good does the quality have to be? Can you get away with an 8-1/2" x 11" image at medium quality or do you need something that's poster size at very high, presentation quality?

    There are too many variables to really get into and tell you definitively that this is what you have to do. Every project is different and every project requires a different approach. Different lighting, different materials, etc. Figuring out what works is something that comes with experience, so just start experimenting to see what works and what doesn't work.

    Experimentation and practice are the best way to learn, in my opinion.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Acceleration Problem
    By ARYT in forum SolidWorks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th Sep 2009, 02:05 pm
  2. animation render vs regular render??????
    By Joe Cole in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th Feb 2008, 07:24 pm
  3. Hardware acceleration drop-down menu is blank
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2006, 12:18 pm
  4. Hardware Acceleration options unavailable
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2006, 12:18 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts