+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,505

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    JDM: Can you convince my boss to let me get Inventor?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #12
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    I think I would start with something easier.
    Start with something easier than a boat? Or start with something easier than Inventor?

    I know that a boat is not the easiest place to start, but if that is what he wants to do, I will help him as much as I can.

    About making the jump to Inventor... or no, I won't go there, that discussion have been had here plenty of times before.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,505

    Default

    Maybe I should look into upgrading my AutoCAD 2011 to Inventor Suite? If I understand it correctly AutoCAD users can upgrade and Inventor Suite comes bundled with AutoCAD Mechanical. So as I see it I would have three pieces of software rolled into one: Inventor, Mechanical and plain AutoCAD right (through the Mechanical program interface)?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #14
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Our Inventor comes in bundle yes, with Mechanical.But just Mechanical, no more vanilla... at least that's how I have had it presented to me.

    And yes, the upgrade cost is nothing compared to the new purchase-price.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  5. #15
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    Our Inventor comes in bundle yes, with Mechanical. But just Mechanical, no more vanilla... at least that's how I have had it presented to me.
    It was presented to you incorrectly.
    AutoCAD Mechanical runs on top of AutoCAD so you have to have AutoCAD.

    Simply right click and drag icon to desktop. I have never used Mechanical. Always use vanilla AutoCAD from my Inventor install.

    All Inventor versions except Inventor LT include AutoCAD Mechanical (and therefore AutoCAD) for free. (you could look at it as you are purchasing AutoCAD and getting Inventor for $1300 if you were not simply paying upgrade price) Old version of Mechanical Desktop can also be downloaded with Inventor license.

    Inventor LT and AutoCAD Inventor LT are different products, one including AutoCAD. Check with your VAR for Autodesk bundling schemes.

    I posted a link to the Inventor product matrix in the Inventor forum yesterday (for some reason, I think 8.5 x 11 format, the matrix doesn't include the AutoCAD inclusion).
    Attached Images
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  6. #16
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    It was presented to you incorrectly.
    AutoCAD Mechanical runs on top of AutoCAD so you have to have AutoCAD.

    ...
    I stand corrected - have never fiddled with verticals so I have always assumed that they are one program, not a addition to vanilla.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  7. #17
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    JDM: Can you convince my boss to let me get Inventor?
    LOL, I just drove through Connecticut a coupe of weeks ago, should have dropped in on you. I only have an idea of what you do, but I think Inventor would really pay off for your work. Virtually everyone I know would consider it torture to go back to AutoCAD. Of course there is a learning curve involved, it can be frustrating when you are comfortable with one CAD package to try to learn a new game.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  8. #18
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    I stand corrected - have never fiddled with verticals so I have always assumed that they are one program, not a addition to vanilla.
    I should clarify that Inventor is in no way shape or form an addition to vanilla. Completely different platform designed from scratch. Don't need to install the AutoCAD (Mechanical). Autodesk simply bundles to help the transition to new technology. During the learning phase when you need to get the job out the door - go back to what you know.

    I recommend NOT installing the AutoCAD (Mechanical) at a site trying make the conversion to Inventor as the old-timers will always revert to what they are comfortable with. It is all but impossible to make some people dig in and learn the new techniques unless you take away the crutch.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  9. #19
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    I should clarify that Inventor is in no way shape or form an addition to vanilla. Completely different platform designed from scratch. Don't need to install the AutoCAD (Mechanical). Autodesk simply bundles to help the transition to new technology. During the learning phase when you need to get the job out the door - go back to what you know.
    I got the basic course in Inventor so I at least know that - and I would sure like to learn it proper, but since then I have changed work tasks completely and if anything I am looking at Civil 3D as the possible 3D-program-upgrade right now.

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    I recommend NOT installing the AutoCAD (Mechanical) at a site trying make the conversion to Inventor as the old-timers will always revert to what they are comfortable with. It is all but impossible to make some people dig in and learn the new techniques unless you take away the crutch.
    I completely agree with you - but my boss just looked at me and shook his head when I said I would refuse to get AutoCAD running on my collegues computers
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

Similar Threads

  1. How to create a RIB and Flat Pattern
    By CAnnondale in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2010, 12:04 pm
  2. Contour Flange to Flat Pattern
    By eweber in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th May 2009, 02:06 am
  3. Sheet Metal, Flat Pattern
    By kam3 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2009, 10:12 pm
  4. Flat Pattern Sheet metal.
    By Rob123 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th Feb 2009, 08:10 am
  5. calculating flat pattern dimension
    By jlovgren in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th Jan 2009, 11:46 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts