+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    26

    Smile Sweeeet!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tommy78 View Post
    to remove the datalink from your xref manager:
    1) rename or remove the linked .dxe files
    2) copy/paste this:
    Code:
    (dictremove (namedobjdict) "ACAD_DATALINK")
    in the commandline, ENTER
    3) save and close the drawing, reload drawing

    this works in 2009, don't know if it works in 2010
    Worked like a charm but NOT until i saved, closed, and reopened! Thanks!!!

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    daha's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Prof
    Computer:
    HP Z400
    RAM:
    6 GB
    Discipline
    Electrical
    daha's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Spec.
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Details
    Audio Visual Design & Installation
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    US-AZ
    Posts
    14

    Default

    I have the same issue; a base dwg with a ton of xrefs from clients and a ton of DXE data links that are no longer valid and you can't purge them. I've tried...(dictremove (namedobjdict) "ACAD_DATALINK") But all that did was remove the datalink dictionary entirely (didn't touch the DXEs). I've tried the dictEdit.lsp...that had no affect. It runs and shows a list of datalinks but not the DXEs of course. I tried wblocking the entire dwg, didn't work. I went in to each of the damn xrefs to find when these DXEs show up, and I've identified that. But I still have no clue as to how to get rid of these things. These ghost data links must be getting read from somewhere?? What table is being read that populates XREF Manager? If it's showing up as links there, then it has to be in the dwg database somewhere. What about "super purge?" Is that still available?

  3. #13
    Super Member irneb's Avatar
    Computer Details
    irneb's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    Antec One Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67-Pro P67
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16GB-1600MHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 430 (1GB)
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate1TB SATA2 - 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Samsung 2333TN 23" 1920 x 1080 Full HD LCD Monitor2GW
    Discipline
    Architectural
    irneb's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician and Programmer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    I think SP is available yes. Though I just want to make sure I'm understanding correctly. The DXE is simply a file, you can delete it in Windows Explorer.

    If you mean that the DXE is still listed as linked, then it's most probably a situation of one (or more) of the xref containing the links. You'll need to open each xref in turn, clear the dictionaries from there, save, close reload, next. Until you've "cleaned" all the xrefs, then to be sure, clean the container DWG too. save close and reopen.
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

  4. #14
    Senior Member ammobake's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ammobake's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    HP 2240 SFF Workstation
    Motherboard:
    HP
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E3-1225 v5 @ 3.30ghz, 3.30ghz
    RAM:
    18 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia NVS 510
    Primary Storage:
    Confidential
    Secondary Storage:
    Confidential
    Monitor:
    4 total (2 - 27 in monitors below, 2- 22 in monitors on top)
    Discipline
    Construction
    ammobake's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Drafting & Architecutural Design (gov/military)
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    201

    Default

    This thread was helpful for me on Autocad 2014 also - Just used this approach today.

    I was using a pre-existing drawing set for a new project design. The XREF manager showed the pre-existing data link on the list but apparently XREF manager doesn't let you detach or remove if the data link is deleted at some point.

    This particular data link was a portion of an excel document that was copied and pasted into Autocad.

    -Chris

  5. #15
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Seems like the Excel Data Link was inserted straight into the drawing but if you make a xref it will be no problem. But this help thankssss!!!!!!

  6. #16
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tommy78 View Post
    to remove the datalink from your xref manager:
    1) rename or remove the linked .dxe files
    2) copy/paste this:
    Code:
    (dictremove (namedobjdict) "ACAD_DATALINK")
    in the commandline, ENTER
    3) save and close the drawing, reload drawing

    this works in 2009, don't know if it works in 2010
    It works in 2013

  7. #17
    Senior Member Dinochrome's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dinochrome's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 10
    Computer:
    Dell M6600 (no CAD)
    CPU:
    64-bit Intel Xenon Multi-threading
    RAM:
    16 Gig
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro 3000M
    Monitor:
    laptop
    Discipline
    Education
    Dinochrome's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ...gone trucking
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    America's Hinterland
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tommy78 View Post
    to remove the datalink from your xref manager:
    1) rename or remove the linked .dxe files
    2) copy/paste this:
    Code:
    (dictremove (namedobjdict) "ACAD_DATALINK")
    in the commandline, ENTER
    3) save and close the drawing, reload drawing

    this works in 2009, don't know if it works in 2010
    Thanks Tommy78!

  8. #18
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    ... or you could just use the DATALINK command.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #19
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,738

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    ... or you could just use the DATALINK command.
    That doesn't work as far as I could tell, I just went through this a couple of weeks ago. Hopefully though, you are correct for newer versions of AutoCAD.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  10. #20
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It's a two step process. The table needs to be deleted, then the datalink removed.
    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. adding data to polyline and extracting this data to table?
    By feargt in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 24th May 2013, 08:04 pm
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th Aug 2009, 02:40 pm
  3. Excel Table Data Link
    By johnv in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2009, 12:11 am
  4. How can I edit a Table Data Link Value via VBA or LISP?
    By PJF in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2009, 03:28 pm
  5. Edit Table with Data Link
    By Tconn in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th Sep 2008, 02:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts