"Smart Close" MACRO - Suggestions and Help

SpeakNoEvil

Hello all,

You've given such outstanding help in the past, I'm optimistic that this will be easily solvable as well. I wrote a "Smart Close" MACRO to automatically perform some cleanup/tidying steps before a file is closed. (The goal is to help other engineers in my department get more clean and consistent with their files.) Specifically, you click the button and it executes the MACRO

^C^C_TILEMODE;0;_AUDIT;Y;_-LA;S;0;;_Z;E;_LWDISPLAY;ON;_VISRETAIN;1;_MVIEW;L;ON;ALL;;_qsave;_close;

Which:

• Switches to Paperspace
  • Runs an Audit
  • Sets the current layer to 0
  • Zooms to the extents of the page
  • Turns the lineweight display on
  • Saves the on/off visibility settings for all layers
  • Locks all viewports
  • Saves the sheet
  • Closes the sheet

Admittedly, I'm a bit new at MACROS, so my formatting may be a bit unorthodox. It works great though, and I tend to use it in place of my usual close button.

FIRST: does anyone have any suggestions for other things to add to the list?

SECOND: I'm having a small problem with it. If there aren't any viewports in Paperspace for a particular file, it hiccups at the "lock viewports" part and exits out of the MACRO - leaving me to manually save and close.

Any suggestions on how to make it run smoothly regardless of the presence/absence of viewports? I'm fairly sure you could solve this in LISP, but I don't know any LISP and I feel like the amount of work to turn it to a LISP code is substantially more than the work of just saving and closing manually. (I even made a separate MACRO to do that in one step too.) Any suggestions on a fix to the hiccup? Please let me know, and thank you in advance!

TC