things i should keep in mind before starting / layout trouble

davesec

Hi!

I'm using Autocad for the first time. I want to do some working drawings.

I want to draw in 1:50 scale, in milimeters. I want to print to A2 paper when all is said and done.

one link suggested I set limits, and from the table they had i set them as:

21,000 x 29,700

Then I started drawing my house. I had a lot of small problems but sort of powered through them. A couple stand out:

-Default lineweight through .25mm linetype all look the same in my model space.

-Can I have different linetypes for different layers?

-When I try to dimension something that's, say, 11,000mm, the arrows are tiny and the dimensions look like crap. I want to get that sort of nice oblique set of dimensions I've seen.

Anyway, then I click on the 'Layout1' tab and it looks like this:

(please view attached image 1.jpg - i can't post links until i have 9 posts apparently)

Never mind the giant batting linetype, I have no idea why that's there. But what does that giant black-outlined rectangle represent?! Why is it so huge?

Also is 'Layout1' my "paperspace"?

Then if I click page setup it looks like this:

(please view image 2.jpg)

Everywhere I've read seems to tell me to print "extents", but then it only seems to cover 2/3rds of the page?

Can someone help me sort this out?

Also, I want a titleblock but would rather use a default then make my own. Does AutoCAD come with any default titleblocks? Is it too late to import them? Do I have to scale them to this particular drawing?

--

One last thing, are there links to things I should do at the beginning of a drawing to help keep me organized while I make the drawing?

Sorry for so many questions, I jumped into this two days ago and am getting a little overwhelmed.

1.JPG

2.JPG

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Dana W

• Tiger

• einstainas

• davesec

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hi! Hey!