+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member Bobzy20's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Bobzy20's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
    Computer:
    Advent T9509
    Motherboard:
    Foxconn G9657MA-8KS2H
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    RAM:
    8GB DDR2 PC2-5300
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro FX580 512MB
    Primary Storage:
    320GB SATA
    Secondary Storage:
    WD 1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Advent X19w 19" Monitor
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Bobzy20's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Lighting Controls CAD Technician
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    368

    Default Drawing a Tyre in 3D AutoCAD (HELP)

    Hi I was wondering if the following was possible.

    I’m trying to add a tyre thread to this half a tyre I’ve drawn but I don’t know how to get the thread to intersect the tyre so it cuts out a 4mm grove.

    I guess the thread sketch I’ve drawn in Red would need to be curved to the same angle as the tyre so the groves will be exactly 4mm deep.

    Basically I found this tutorial on YouTube but the user was drawing it in SolidWorks which seems to work a lot better!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9hZuixuIveM

    Any help would be great.

    Thanks

    Bobzy20
    Apparently Revit is the FUTURE but all I know is AutoCAD.

  2. #2
    Super Member kencaz's Avatar
    Computer Details
    kencaz's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro, Vista, Linux,W7
    Computer:
    HP,s Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    kencaz's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer/Machinist
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    759

    Default

    Well, Solidworks or Inventor will make an easier job of it but you can certainly do it in AutoCAD.

    If you extrude your tread profile (tread becomes solid), you can use a copy of your tire to subtract the correct radius on the tread. Then move the tread 4mm below the surface, polar array and subtract.

    Now your tread depth will remain 4mm through out the tire face...

    Also, best to use Layers and union the array into a single solid to make it a little easier during the subtraction.

    Good Luck

    KC
    Some of my AutoCAD and Inventor Pics and Videos...
    http://www.youtube.com/kencaz45



  3. #3
    Senior Member Bobzy20's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Bobzy20's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
    Computer:
    Advent T9509
    Motherboard:
    Foxconn G9657MA-8KS2H
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    RAM:
    8GB DDR2 PC2-5300
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro FX580 512MB
    Primary Storage:
    320GB SATA
    Secondary Storage:
    WD 1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Advent X19w 19" Monitor
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Bobzy20's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Lighting Controls CAD Technician
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Thanks kencaz, all done.

    Cheers for your help.

    Bobzy20
    Apparently Revit is the FUTURE but all I know is AutoCAD.

  4. #4
    Senior Member rvpas's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rvpas's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp pro
    Computer:
    laptop HP Compaq nx9420 - workstation hp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    rvpas's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    building CAD designer and AUTOCAD ATC instructor free lance
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Help to design building with architect work with REVIT and AUTOCAD during the step of conception, follow the contruction site, building survey. ATC Instructor with trainng center 2d 3d AUTOCAD and REVIT
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Savigny sur orge - south of paris
    Posts
    172

    Default

    Hi Bobzy20,
    My first idea
    Dont use substract but interfere command.
    Home tab/Solid Editing panel/Interfere
    1st-select your tire - ok
    2nd-select your tread - ok
    now you will see a red interference object(A)
    3rd-uncheck Delete interference objects created on close
    4th-close
    now, copy this object to 4mm (B) lock ortho during your deplacement
    5th-subtract this time, your first interference object(A) with his copy(B).
    You to have now an object (tread)
    use 3d array with polar option
    and substract again.
    I am full today, but I going to try in the evening because soon I has to make a ww2 mud/snow tire.
    One question for you, do you know where I can find the drawing of this kind tread tire thanks.
    Bye
    Pascal

  5. #5
    Senior Member Bobzy20's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Bobzy20's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
    Computer:
    Advent T9509
    Motherboard:
    Foxconn G9657MA-8KS2H
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    RAM:
    8GB DDR2 PC2-5300
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro FX580 512MB
    Primary Storage:
    320GB SATA
    Secondary Storage:
    WD 1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Advent X19w 19" Monitor
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Bobzy20's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Lighting Controls CAD Technician
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks guys for all your help.

    I've managed to create the tyre now, I will try and Render it (never rendered before) and then I will post a image.

    Thanks

    Bobzy20
    Apparently Revit is the FUTURE but all I know is AutoCAD.

Similar Threads

  1. Tyre Tread Tutorial
    By FazBear in forum Tutorials & Tips'n'Tricks
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 6th Aug 2011, 03:49 pm
  2. tyre
    By TonyBorland in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st Dec 2009, 09:00 am
  3. How do i draw a tyre using solidworks?
    By topcat08 in forum SolidWorks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th May 2008, 07:08 am
  4. AutoCAD settings - What stays with the drawing & what with AutoCAD?
    By Tempest in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2007, 09:52 pm
  5. Is autocad 2000 the program to learn autocad drawing skills
    By New2CADmike in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2006, 09:34 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts