+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1

    Question What's the best computer setup for running AutoCAD and Revit

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    My desktop PC recently fried so now I need to buy a new tower to do my AutoCAD 2010 and Revit Architecture 2010. I'm a student just finishing up my associates degree in computer drafting and I will be starting a cad drafting business shortly. I need a computer that is reasonably priced and upgradeable, has enough memory, RAM, and VRAM to do all my cad work, some 3D modeling and rendering and run my Microsoft Office software. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank You. James

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,763

    Default

    What is your budget?

    Take a look at this recent Cadalyst magazine article about a HP workstation. Starting price is just over $750.

    http://www.cadalyst.com/hardware/wor...kstation-13312
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,125

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    OK, I'll bite

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883103274

    Acer Predator:
    Intel Core i7 930(2.8GHz)
    64 bit Quad-Core Processor
    Turbo Boost Technology up to 3.06GHz
    12GB DDR3 1333
    1.5TB SATA 7200RPM
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX470 Graphics with 1280MB of Discrete Video Memory

    not bad for $2,000 USD
    Sure it's a game rig but I bet it will run CAD and Revit
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Similar Threads

  1. best computer specs for running cad AS OF OCT2009
    By meow x in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 15th Oct 2009, 10:27 pm
  2. Problem running Autocad 2009
    By waitsui in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 18th Mar 2009, 12:52 am
  3. Running AutoCAD 2000 & 2004
    By hyposmurf in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th Jun 2008, 06:26 pm
  4. Any CAD users here running AutoCAD on a Mac?
    By ReMark in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 14th Apr 2008, 01:28 pm
  5. Save my toolbar setup to another computer
    By amattintime in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Jul 2006, 04:17 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts