+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Electrical 2006
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2

    Smile Substation design using autocad 2006

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi.. I am newbie and i m using ACADE 2006..i am tusing ACADE to design substation protection. pls help me whr to fetch the symbol for the schematics(protection block diagrram, relay control logic, dc distribution netwrk etc) also help me with whr to start ADACE learning.thanks in advance..

  2. #2
    Super Member Ryder76's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Ryder76's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell T7500
    Discipline
    See details...
    Ryder76's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Designer - Oil & Gas
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Subsea Solutions
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    570

    Default

    Good luck with that...no disrespect intended. Are you a newbie to ACAD or just the Electrical version of it? Unless your company has already established a catalog of blocks and customized ACAD Electrical to suit their purposes you may as well use it a ACAD Vanilla and make your own stuff. OTB ACADE does not come ready to use for every electrical application there is. There are some things in it from the sample area, but unless it has been customized it's not much better that Vanilla with LISP and Block Libraries. IMHO

    I work in the electrical field and may be able to help you with some symbols/blocks. Can you give more info on what you are doing and what you need? I'll try to help and there are tons of folks here that will be coming along soon. This is the best place for ACAD support - and great bunch of people.
    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds." - Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,993

    Default

    Note that the user is running ACADE 2006 and things have changed dramatically since the introduction of the Ribbon and the many updates to the program over the last five years.

    A search of Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Borders turned up no books for AutoCAD Electrical 2006.

    I would suggest you upgrade to ACADE 2011.

    To my knowledge ACADE does not have blocks specific to substation protection. As previously suggested you might have to create your own. Two other options are to search the websites of manufacturers who make components specific to your needs or find a third-party software maker who has an electrical block library for sale containing the blocks you need to create your drawings.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Super Member Ryder76's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Ryder76's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell T7500
    Discipline
    See details...
    Ryder76's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Designer - Oil & Gas
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Subsea Solutions
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    570

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Note that the user is running ACADE 2006 and things have changed dramatically since the introduction of the Ribbon and the many updates to the program over the last five years.
    Yep - you're probably right and DBROADA would be the best brain to pick on this as he is running a relatively new version of it. My experience with ACADE has been with 2006 and 2008. I would love to have the time to customize it and use it - I think it can be a very powerful tool for Electrical. Just seems that companies don't want to invest in making things efficient. Sometimes that takes time and in this world of business expecting and demanding instant gratification that's almost impossible.

    thanish81188 don't give up based on my experiences or the lack there of with ACADE. There are great folks here that can help you and will be along shortly.
    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds." - Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,993

    Default

    The company I work for just purchased ACADE 2011. In my haste to learn something about the way the program works I purchased a book entitled AutoCAD Electrical 2010 for Electrical Control Desigers by Sam Ticko and Shafali Pandita published by CADCIM Technologies. A 2011 version is not yet available. The book runs close to 900 pages and cost me about $45 (U.S.).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Electrical 2006
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy

    thank u guys for ur responses.. i am not running a company, but trying for a job in design of substation protection.they require Autocad to been knwn as a basic. give me some basic start up tutorial regarding it.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,993

    Default

    CADTutor has AutoCAD tutorials. Did you check any of them out?

    Click on the Tutorial button at the top (right-hand side) of this page. The tutorials are for plain vanilla AutoCAD. They do not cover AutoCAD Electrical.

    Also, click on the Links button and go through the listings. You'll find additional tutorials at CAD Digest, AutoDesk and AutoCAD Central just to name a few.

    Finally, check out these websites as well for AutoCAD-related tutorials:

    www.autocadmark.com

    www.we-r-here.com
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Super Member Ryder76's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Ryder76's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell T7500
    Discipline
    See details...
    Ryder76's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Designer - Oil & Gas
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Subsea Solutions
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    570

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    The company I work for just purchased ACADE 2011. In my haste to learn something about the way the program works I purchased a book entitled AutoCAD Electrical 2010 for Electrical Control Desigers by Sam Ticko and Shafali Pandita published by CADCIM Technologies. A 2011 version is not yet available. The book runs close to 900 pages and cost me about $45 (U.S.).
    Sorry, Mark, I've been gone so long I had forgotten that you were digging into ACADE! My bad.
    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds." - Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    Super Member Ryder76's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Ryder76's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell T7500
    Discipline
    See details...
    Ryder76's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Designer - Oil & Gas
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Subsea Solutions
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    570

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thanish81188 View Post
    thank u guys for ur responses.. i am not running a company, but trying for a job in design of substation protection.they require Autocad to been knwn as a basic. give me some basic start up tutorial regarding it.
    Are they requiring ACAD or ACADE knowledge as a basic? Perhaps they already have the customization in place which will make it easier if you use the tutorials that ReMark has given you.
    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds." - Albert Einstein

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Electrical 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Ask the supplier to get you in touch with some of the Engineering department of the brand you gonna use.
    They may give you their blocks, if you could prove that you will use their product.

Similar Threads

  1. ACADE or Promis.E? High Voltage Substation Design
    By illini1022 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th May 2010, 09:52 pm
  2. Civil Design Companion 2006
    By Buddy Love in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2010, 11:16 pm
  3. Autodesk Civil Design Companion 2006
    By Buddy Love in forum Autodesk Software General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2010, 11:10 pm
  4. Adapting lisp menu from ABS 2006 to AutoCAD 2006
    By rab in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2007, 03:01 pm
  5. Raster Design 2006
    By Broman in forum Autodesk Software General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Sep 2005, 07:06 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts