+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28

    Angry Find, Can't Find Square Bracket "["

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey I'm using AutoCAD 2008 LT,
    now I'm having trouble finding a string of text with square brackets "["
    Anyone know of this problem or how to fix it?
    I've gone through the options that find and replace has, ticked and unticked all of them still nothing.


    P.S. 2008 LT, dosn't have the "Use wilcards" tickbox...

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,839

    Default

    Sometimes working with LT can be vexing. I'd suggest a custom lisp routine but LT does not support it. Perhaps the use of a macro?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesfear View Post
    Hey I'm using AutoCAD 2008 LT,
    now I'm having trouble finding a string of text with square brackets "["
    Anyone know of this problem or how to fix it?
    I've gone through the options that find and replace has, ticked and unticked all of them still nothing.


    P.S. 2008 LT, dosn't have the "Use wilcards" tickbox...
    I'm using AutoCAD 2007 LT and just checked it out and the same thing happened to me. I checked out all other characters on the keyboard and they show when using the "find" command, except for the "[" square bracket. The right side of the square bracket "]" does show... so assuming you closed the bracket out with the right side, try doing a "find" with that.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    Try `[
    Reverse quote Bracket

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,839

    Default

    Is the use of a reverse quote considered a wildcard of sorts?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    The [ is a wildcard (or part of one). The ` will make Find read the next character literally.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,839

    Default

    You are a fountain of information my friend. Thanks.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Super Member Ryder76's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Ryder76's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell T7500
    Discipline
    See details...
    Ryder76's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Designer - Oil & Gas
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Subsea Solutions
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    570

    Default

    This old dog just learned a new trick - Thanks!
    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds." - Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by lpseifert View Post
    Try `[
    Reverse quote Bracket
    Thank you for your help, that works! haha
    and thank you ReMark for your sugguestion =]

Similar Threads

  1. .DBX files "cannot find a procedure it needs"
    By rwhitt0724 in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th May 2010, 05:09 pm
  2. Where can I find a list of commands for 08"?
    By SFG13 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th Jan 2010, 09:29 pm
  3. Can't find "Tahoma" DWG -> PDF
    By Kremer in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Dec 2009, 10:43 pm
  4. "Cannot find .DCL file."
    By slimjramirez in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th Dec 2008, 03:29 pm
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2008, 12:11 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts