AutoCAD Electrical Set-up

DesireeK

I am new to this, trying this out to see if anyone can help me.

My company is on board with switching to AutoCAD Electrical 2011. However, my boss now wants a list of what needs to be done to start using the product.

What needs to be set up or learned?

I have played around with the trial version and it is so overwhelming.

I have read other post and taken some notes. For example: I found that blocks need to be adjusted, new title blocks need to be created, set-up report layouts.

What else needs to be done in order to use the product and use it to its full potential?

Do excel templates come with the product or do they need to be created. What needs to be set up to automatically create I/O drawings, etc.?

Any Information would be great.

Welcome to the CADTutor forum DesireeK.

I can heartily sympathize with your dilemma as we have recently purchased and started to use AutoCAD Electrical 2011. Right now we have one network license shared amongst two engineers and myself (the CAD guy).

I must agree ACADE can be overwhelming. It is definitely not that easy to understand upon first delving into it.

May I ask, did your company purchase a Subscription?

Since we wanted our electrical drawings to stand out from all our other drawings we (meaning me, myself and I...LOL) created some standard template files as our first order of business.

The blocks we have used have been primarily those supplied with the software although one of the engineers found that he needed to create some custom PLC blocks. I too experimented with creating a couple of custom symbols but it was more for educating myself than anything else.

We have not done any reports yet (I work for a chemical company and not an electrical design company) so I'll have to pass on the Excel templates question for the moment but I think I may be able to find an answer for you.