+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default Free Texture Images

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Just stumbled on this site. Great if you need some quick textures for your renders http://textures.forrest.cz/
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  2. #2
    Gary J
    Guest

    Default

    Nice textures, (I need more metal ones), is there anyway I can save these for use in Acad? i.e. TGA format?
    I don't have any other external rendering program.

    Gary

  3. #3
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Gary - there's no need to convert to TGA. The textures on this site are in JPG format and you can use them to create AutoCAD materials as they are.

    In fact, you can create AutoCAD materials from .BMP, .PNG, .TIF and .PCX files in addition to .TGA and .JPG.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  4. #4
    Gary J
    Guest

    Default

    I didn't know that. So if I save them to perhaps, the textures folder, I can access them from there and apply as a render?

    I shouldn't really be asking this on this forum so feel free to move it to the relevant one

    Gary

  5. #5
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gary J
    I didn't know that. So if I save them to perhaps, the textures folder, I can access them from there and apply as a render?
    Yes that's right - easy ain't it?
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  6. #6
    Senior Member Orbit's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    167

    Default


    Actually, I have tried to save and did not load up on materials render. What am I doing wrong?

  7. #7
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    I assume that you have created a new material using the image file? If not, you must do this first. Then make sure that you render using either the Photo Real or Photo Ray Trace render type. Also check that materials are turned on. See here for details: http://www.cadtutor.net/acad/acad2ki...at.html#Create
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  8. #8
    Senior Member Orbit's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    167

    Default

    Thank you CadTutor

    It worked nice your solution and the tutorial is great.

  9. #9
    Gary J
    Guest

    Default

    Worked for me too, many thanks. Now I can do models with metalic rendering

    Gary

  10. #10
    vizwhiz
    Guest

    Default FreeList Textures

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hi There

    an updated corrected List of Links for etc:

    ****

    The main Link for etc Textures is:

    AlfaLink:

    http://www.viz2000.com/html/alfa/alfalink.html

    (mostly) FreeList Textures:

    http://www.viz2000.com/html/alfa/materials.html

    Thanks

    Randy
    www.viz2000.com

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts