+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member garycrampton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    garycrampton's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Dell Precision 380
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.40 GHz
    RAM:
    3.50 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3450/4000 SDI
    Monitor:
    Dell 21" Widescreen
    Using
    Inventor 2009
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Daventry, Northants. UK
    Posts
    16

    Default Convert 3D AutoCAD Model Space Drg to 2D Model Space Drg

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I use AutoCAD LT 2005 on Widows XP Professional.
    I received a 3D AutoCAD drawing in Model Space.
    I need to create a Plan, Side and End Elevation in 2D using this 3D model.
    How do I create 2D line drawings from the 3D model.
    I do not need to create the views (viewports) in Paperspace, but I need to use the information for 3 separate 2D drawings, Plan, Side & End Elevations.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    Switch to layout1, delete the viewport created by AutoCAD and enter SOLVIEW at the command line. Follow the prompts to draw the 3 views as you need them. Now enter SOLDRAW and select the 3 viewports created in the previous step. If you need 3 different 3D drawings, double-click in a viewport, select all the 2D geometry and press CTRL+C. Open a new drawing and paste the 2D things (CTRL+V). Repeat these steps for the other 2 viewports.
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  3. #3
    Junior Member garycrampton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    garycrampton's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Dell Precision 380
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.40 GHz
    RAM:
    3.50 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3450/4000 SDI
    Monitor:
    Dell 21" Widescreen
    Using
    Inventor 2009
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Daventry, Northants. UK
    Posts
    16

    Default

    SOLVIEW does not work on my version of AutoCAD LT 2005. I suppose it works only with the full 3D version rather than the LT version I have. Is there another method for AutoCAD LT 2005 rather than the full 3D version?

  4. #4
    Super Member Mr T's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Loch Oich SCOTLAND...
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    You are right LT does not do it.

    LT is really 2D and full acad is FULL 3D.

    Nick
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/80049703@N00/ http://mtbnick.fotopic.net/
    http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/dyNick_Scots/
    http://designgraphicsshowcase.blogspot.com/

    High School Classroom - 21 AutoCAD 2007, Inventor 11, COREL Draw & Paint 11. Very Unreliable Network.

    Home - AMD 2.1GHZ - 512Ram, 64 Video,
    Laptop Inventor 7, Autocad 2004, Corel 11

  5. #5
    Super Member Mr T's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Loch Oich SCOTLAND...
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    Download a trial version of full acad ??????

    Nick
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/80049703@N00/ http://mtbnick.fotopic.net/
    http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/dyNick_Scots/
    http://designgraphicsshowcase.blogspot.com/

    High School Classroom - 21 AutoCAD 2007, Inventor 11, COREL Draw & Paint 11. Very Unreliable Network.

    Home - AMD 2.1GHZ - 512Ram, 64 Video,
    Laptop Inventor 7, Autocad 2004, Corel 11

  6. #6
    Junior Member garycrampton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    garycrampton's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Dell Precision 380
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.40 GHz
    RAM:
    3.50 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3450/4000 SDI
    Monitor:
    Dell 21" Widescreen
    Using
    Inventor 2009
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Daventry, Northants. UK
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I eventually had access to a full version of AutoCAD (2002) and had some success. I used SOLPROF, in the command line, after I created 3 viewports and this helped eventually after I had to explode some of the blocks in the drawing. The Blocks in the drawing were not allowing me to transfer the 3D data to 2D. It is possible that the owner of the original drawing inserted the 3D data as blocks. This was preventing the 2D data being generated.

    I tried SOLVIEW and SOLDRAW, but did not have much success in creating the viewports in the first place. After trawling thru' the help menu I found SOLPROF which gave me some success. I suppose if I were to use 3D day in day out, I would know more than I do.
    Possibly SOLVIEW or SOLPROF may keep some layer details, but SOLPROF is fine for me at the moment as it creates the 2D views I require.
    To all, thanks for your help.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts