+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    OldMikeNewMember's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MacOS with Windows
    Computer:
    MacBook Pro
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4

    AutoCAD pdf files much larger than "parent" .dwgs

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi everybody,

    Please would someone explain (and help to cure) this problem I'm having when creating pdfs when using the DWG to PDF.pc3 plot driver in AutoCad (2007 - 2010).
    The pdf files are about 3 or 4 times larger than the .dwgs, one pdf came out at 6.4MB when I printed the layout drawing; some layouts were only a couple of hundred KBs which was OK. I need to e-mail these drawings as pdfs but there usually is a mail-box limit problem. HELP!

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,715

    Default

    I have the same issue with LT 2009.

    Go to the Autodesk website and download TrueView. You can open your drawing with it and plot the pdf files without making any changes at all. And the pdf's will only be a couple hundred Kb's too.

    I think AutoCAD stuffs the pdf file with ALL the overhead data that is in the dwg file, including importing all the data for external references and blocks.

    One thing that is really a small issue, but some people seem very annoyed by it. TrueView will take over the "Opens With" Windows default for all your dwg files until either you right click the file in Windows and change it back to dwg launcher or open the same file from within AutoCAD again. Of course AutoCAD does the very same thing, so......
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    OldMikeNewMember's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MacOS with Windows
    Computer:
    MacBook Pro
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for your advice Dana. I'll try that "TrueView" thing. I have found out a little more myself about this problem by looking through the AutoCad help stuff and it suggests it could be down to the resolution settings, but I tend to agree with your suggestion that a lot more (especially layer information) is turned into the pdf file than we imagine. So the "dpi" vector and gradient settings may be contributory to the problem I have.

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,138

    Default

    An architect just sent me an email. I had sent her a batch of PDFs, and they're fairly large, between 1 and 2 MB apiece. She suggested trying a "simpler" font. I remembered this thread, so I came back to see if the TrueView solution would work. Here are the results.
    Original drawing: 817 KB
    PDF made with CutePDF Writer: 1481 KB
    PDF made with TrueView: 1462 KB
    a savings of 1.3%....
    Our standard font is Simplex. Don't see how you could get any simpler than that. If I have time, I'll tinker with the settings and see I can get smaller PDFs.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,715

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CyberAngel View Post
    An architect just sent me an email. I had sent her a batch of PDFs, and they're fairly large, between 1 and 2 MB apiece. She suggested trying a "simpler" font. I remembered this thread, so I came back to see if the TrueView solution would work. Here are the results.
    Original drawing: 817 KB
    PDF made with CutePDF Writer: 1481 KB
    PDF made with TrueView: 1462 KB
    a savings of 1.3%....
    Our standard font is Simplex. Don't see how you could get any simpler than that. If I have time, I'll tinker with the settings and see I can get smaller PDFs.
    True and Cutie are pretty equivelent in the output size. I use trueview so I only have one company to complain to. AutoCAD would have made that 1481 kb about 11 megabytes.
    Make sure you are plotting at a quality level of 'Normal' or lower in the layout manager. Use the minimum acceptable level. I usually use 'Draft' and it comes out fine. Once the drawing is final, purge, purge, and purge again. Delete the scale list items that you are not using. This makes a difference for some reason.

    1481 Kb? What the heck are you drawing, The new buildings at Ground Zero?

    I have an Arch "D" 24x36 sized drawing of a 27 acre ALTA survey at 1" =100' scale. It is only a 182 kb pdf and it is a really dense drawing, over 2000 words of text on it too, but I only have 12 layers and ONE color. I used a combination of CityBlueprint and Times New Roman fonts. I drew with about 5 colors and once I got the thing pretty much finalized, I turned it all 'white/black' By Layer and plot using monochrome.ctb.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  6. #6
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,138

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    1481 Kb? What the heck are you drawing, The new buildings at Ground Zero?
    This plan is for a bait shop that the state legislature is setting up on the State House grounds to bring in a little extra revenue.

    Seriously, it's part of a community college, about 4 acres. We're doing the site work for a renovation: shifting the parking, adding a driveway, putting in new pipes to drain the pavement, etc. I don't see the size as unusual because all our other plans end up about 1-2 MB.

    Just looked at another project. A few property lines, contours, building outlines, and a football field (a block). Total size: 767 KB. That's not right.

    So I pruned out most of the scale list, purged, and saved. The same drawing is now 749KB.

    Now I've got my deerstalker cap on. Each drawing has a title block. That block includes our logo, which is a different block, and that's 315 KB by itself (!). The logo block has a few closed polylines with enclosed hatches, a few lines of text, a polyline border. That's it. No way is that 300 KB. If I WBLOCK those items I get a drawing that's "only" 114 KB. Whiskey Tango Foxtrot.

    To be continued ...
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,715

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by CyberAngel View Post
    This plan is for a bait shop that the state legislature is setting up on the State House grounds to bring in a little extra revenue.

    To be continued ...
    You had me there for a couple minutes. I've been to South Carolina and was born in very southern Virginia, so I know it has been done before.

    The Mayor of our little town down there in VA gave his inaugeral speech in hip waders.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. (read (strcat "(" "1.5X250X600" ")"))
    By muthu123 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2010, 01:05 pm
  2. (read (strcat "(" "TUBE150X150X4.5 20.2" ")"))
    By muthu123 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 21st Jun 2010, 03:40 am
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2009, 06:35 pm
  4. Import "Steel Detailing Neutral" (*.SDN) files
    By SEANT in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th Oct 2008, 01:27 pm
  5. Location of "paper" in paperspace different in different files
    By cbcupolo in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th Dec 2007, 10:27 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts