+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2

    Question On using LINE R on the COMMAND LINE for drawing a straight line

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    One method suggested to draw a straight line using AUTOCAD 2007 is by LINE <R >on the COMMAND LINE, Page 15 Beginning AutoCad 2007 by Bob Mcfarlane.

    On Page 16 in the summary it smply says LINE to be entered on COMMAND LINE as method 3.

    After either proceedure, there is no response to clicking on the board.

    There is no meaning in again going back to line icon as this is an independant method anyway.

    How do we proceed after entering LINE<R> on Command Line.

    Jawahar Vidyalaya

  2. #2
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    <R> means Return or Enter, so After typing LINE, or better yet just L, hit enter, using the left mouse button pick anywhere on the screen, move the mouse, pick anywhere else. At the bottom of the screen pick the button for Polar or Ortho so you can draw lines at exact angles, with ortho only 0, 90, 190, 270, with polar it will 'pop' into those angles and others you can set. Right click on Polar, pick settings, set up what ever angles you may want.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #3
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,745

    Default

    Another option if you want to draw lines at 0 90 etc to an existing line is to type UCS OB then pick line make sure your ortho is on F8 you can then draw sq lines drag mouse and enter distance, when finished UCS W
    Last edited by BIGAL; 8th Sep 2010 at 03:15 am.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank You very much rkent, I begin to get the idea

Similar Threads

  1. v 2009 Problems printing blank line to command line
    By ajs in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Apr 2015, 01:49 pm
  2. Technical Drawing (Transforming Arc Into Straight Line)
    By huygen in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 8th May 2010, 12:50 pm
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th May 2010, 01:39 pm
  4. straight, ortho line for all line on a layer
    By FOU in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2009, 09:50 pm
  5. Drawing any shapes gives straight line only
    By eduardo.tirado in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2008, 01:32 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts