+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    vertical horizons's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 PRO
    Motherboard:
    DX79TO
    CPU:
    I-7 3820 @3.60 GHz
    RAM:
    16.0 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro W7000
    Primary Storage:
    16 GB
    Monitor:
    ViewSonic VX2739wm (Primary) & HP w1907 (Secondary)
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    vertical horizons's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drafting Supervisor
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    236

    Default 2D Sketch VS 3D Sketch

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    While in sketch mode, there is a tab that allows you to select either 2D Sketch or 3D Sketch.

    I have always sketched in 2D mode, then followed up with extrude, revolve, etc.,. Under what conditions would someone sketch in 3D mode, rather than 2D?
    Last edited by vertical horizons; 7th Sep 2010 at 06:43 pm.

  2. #2
    Super Member Pablo Ferral's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    679

    Default

    Piping or Cable and harness design springs to mnd...

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    MrJoshua's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 X64
    Using
    Inventor 2011
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default

    I use it to make skeleton wire frames , then use the frame generator to finish the model.

    I also use it on handrails, draw all the posts then place a work point on the top of the posts then join the dots with a 3D sketch, followed by a sweep

  4. #4
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It is much easier to control a 2d sketch. With inventor I typically only use 3d sketches either for harness data, or to project 2d sketches to get a 3d intersection curve.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks17,Mastercam2017, fusion360, Inventor 2017, HSMworksUltimate
    http://www.solidbox.tv Free and Paid Tutorials for Solidworks, Mastercam and Fusion360
    http://www.mysolidbox.com/ CAD and CAM optimized workstations and laptops

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help With 3D Sketch
    By Uncle Harley in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2009, 12:57 am
  2. inventor sketch to autocad sketch posible?
    By matulja87 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2009, 03:11 pm
  3. 3d Sketch to XYZ
    By Lazer in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th Aug 2007, 01:59 pm
  4. first sketch
    By JBullseye74 in forum SketchUp
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th Apr 2006, 12:03 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts