+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    126

    Default Isometric drawing of a 120 degree desk

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Intereseting problem this, given that I only just learnt how to do Iso properly yesterday. I have these 3 way desks, each covers 120 of a full circle. In the attached plan DWG the plan view model shows what it looks like. I just want to get the tops sorted at first ad then I can figure out the legs. I can't figure the angles out at the moment.

    Are there techniques for this sort of thing or am I just about to enter a world of pain?

    120 DESKS.dwg

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,720

    Default

    Is there a reason for drawing these as a 2D isometric? Why not just draw them in 3D?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    126

    Default

    I've done them in 3D. The reason for Iso is that on our website we have the other products as line drawings, processed through illustrator. This also means we have them as EPS linedrawings in the event that there are no other images of a product.

    I've started on the isometric route as I now need to do the section for this range and it would be nice to have it looking consistent between the ranges, but as you can see from this previous section: http://www.verco.co.uk/systdesking_visbeam.htm my predecessor clearly struggled with the 120 too!

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,720

    Default

    If you have already drawn it in 3D why can't you extract the 2D isometric view(s) you need?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    126

    Default

    I can do that? Just by tracing over the model you mean? or is there a simpler way?

    I guess I didn't think about that way, was trying to remember back to my tech class and if there was a technique for drawing objects that are off square in Iso. I can imagine it'd come in handy. Still, can you elaborate on how to 'extract' any more, is there a command? If so just tell me the name and I can look into it further.

    Or maybe like this? http://ezinearticles.com/?AutoCAD-Tr...try&id=2024113

    I guess the only agrument againt is that I have all kinds of fillets on the model which would make for a fairly messy line drawing. But that, to be fair, is more than I have at the moment!

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,720

    Default

    Plain AutoCAD can produce 2D drawings of 3D objects using commands such as SolProf, the combo commands of SolView/SolDraw and a command introduced in 2007 called Flatshot. Each has its advantages/disadvantages.

    I was unaware of the method outlined in the article you linked to above. Thanks. I'll add it to my arsenal of 3D CAD weapons.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Nice one, sounds like it's the way to go. I'll look into those. Thanks.

    Doublethumbsup.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,998

    Default

    This can be done in Isometric but with almost no training in drawing in Isometric it is probably beyond you at this point. 3D is definitely the way to go if you already know 3D, once modeled in 3D, set up for, say, a SW iso, use flatshot, go back to top view to see your iso.

    In your current drawing that you posted, to see what the top would look like in iso, start the VIEW command, pick SW, make it current, exit the dialog. That is what the top three would look like in an ISO.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,720

    Default

    Down and dirty.

    2D block created from a 3D triple-desk via the Flatshot command.

    120 DESKS.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Sorry only just saw these replies, I've still yet to give it a go, but will report back with results.

    Thanks a lot

Similar Threads

  1. Drawing in Isometric
    By Wilbri in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2010, 10:35 pm
  2. Isometric Drawing help
    By DJ Hands3 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 24th Feb 2010, 03:19 am
  3. Isometric Drawing pt. 2
    By J-Rod#1 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th Dec 2008, 09:34 am
  4. 2004 Land Desk Top To 2008 Land Desk Top commands
    By Leslie Bierman in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2008, 02:35 pm
  5. Isometric drawing
    By whel_13 in forum Catch All
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th May 2003, 05:29 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts