+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: UCS Removal

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    johnston, r.i. USA
    Posts
    17

    Default UCS Removal

    How do I remove or move the UCS out of the way of a drawing?
    Thank you,
    Gabriel

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,046

    Default

    the UCS icon? Pan a bit to the side?
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,462

    Default

    The UCSicon can be turned off.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,535

    Default

    Try this:

    Code:
    (defun c:FOO ()
      (if (= 0 (getvar 'ucsicon))
        (setvar 'ucsicon 1)
        (setvar 'ucsicon 0))
      (princ))

    Edit: This will 'toggle' your UCS icon.
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood

    Autodesk Exchange Apps
    ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,462

    Default

    View > Display > UCS Icon > On / Off.

    Or type UCSicon at the command line.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  6. #6
    Super Member Patrick Hughes's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Patrick Hughes's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7610
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2 (six core)
    RAM:
    32 Gb
    Graphics:
    3 Gb Nvidia Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    2x 1920x1080 Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Patrick Hughes's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Self unemployed - Machine Design
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rockford, Illinois
    Posts
    678

    Default

    My guess is the UCSICON variable is set to 2 which causes the icon to float to the origin. I've always found that to be distracting.

    I've also seen a multitude of questions arise over the years when problems are caused by having the icon turned off. I would advise you keep the icon on but have it always located at the bottom left of your screen. UCSICON 1
    www.cadtempo.com
    Time tracking for AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other CAD programs

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    VIEW / DISPLAY / UCS Icon / disable ORIGIN

    This will take the UCS icon away from the centre of your screen and place it to the bottom left (this is how i have mine)

    Due to the way i draw, i can start my plans anywhere on my display, origional origin or 0,0 have no meaning to me.

    Adam.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,535

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Hughes View Post
    I would advise you keep the icon on but have it always located at the bottom left of your screen. UCSICON 1

    Quote Originally Posted by outbreak View Post
    This will take the UCS icon away from the centre of your screen and place it to the bottom left (this is how i have mine)

    Where have I seen code that does that...?
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood

    Autodesk Exchange Apps
    ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

Similar Threads

  1. Cad Spyware/Virus Removal?
    By Ritch7 in forum Catch All
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 7th Jan 2010, 11:35 pm
  2. Removal of attributes from blocks?
    By LebronJames23 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Oct 2009, 08:37 am
  3. Data extraction removal
    By deo06 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2009, 02:52 pm
  4. viewport border removal?
    By AutoNewbie in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 17th Jun 2008, 03:32 pm
  5. Removal of User Accounts
    By CADTutor in forum News, Announcements & FAQ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th Mar 2004, 10:45 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts