+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 25 of 25
  1. #21
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks for the answer, but I think I'm even more confused than before- does that mean that the sidewalks and parking strip should be within the right of way? I used Filet and created them around the outside of it.

    Another question: I'm trying to insert trees now, but whenever I place them at the listed coordinates, they show up on a completely different coordination. could it be that I made a mistake when creating the block, and that the block is shifted to a different position when I place it? How can I erase the block to create a new one?

    yet another question: if I select everything on my drawing with ctrl + a I see that I have 4 trees placed somewhere on the drawing which I cannot find anywhere, is there a possibilty to erase them, or to go to these objects when I select them from the list?

    Thanks!!!

  2. #22
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    How many 50 foot wide streets have you driven down lately in your own home town? That would be the equivalent of a four lane interstate highway with a two foot breakdown lane.

    Tree blocks. What did you use as a basepoint for your block? That may have something to do with what you are seeing. The block can be recreated using a different basepoint. Save it under the same block name.

    Lost trees. Have you done a Zoom > Extents? You could also use the Find command and search for each insertion of the tree block one by one. AutoCAD will zoom to the next instance of the block and until you cycle through them all.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #23
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hey, yes, the basepoints of the blocks were missing. the other trees I found and erased. I'm from Germany and have difficulty trying to perceive dimensions in feet, and besides that, a two lane highway here is probably as wide as a alleyway there in America lol! I'd have been finished long ago with my degree, but I've been procrastinating just because of this one exam.

    Thanks
    Last edited by cherax; 28th Nov 2010 at 03:43 pm.

  4. #24
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    From Germany? As in originally from Germany? Where are you actually located?

    I imagine going from metric to imperial dimensions can be a real headache.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #25
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Back to your original question. My suggestion is as follows. Draw four lines. One will be for the edge of curb, one for the front and back edge of the sidewalk and one for the street-line (also doubles as the front property line). The curb width (6" normally) is so small at a scale of 1"=50' that it will be barely noticeable.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Can anyone explain "plat" or "plat engineering"??
    By tzframpton in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 15th Aug 2010, 02:42 pm
  2. (read (strcat "(" "1.5X250X600" ")"))
    By muthu123 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2010, 01:05 pm
  3. (read (strcat "(" "TUBE150X150X4.5 20.2" ")"))
    By muthu123 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 21st Jun 2010, 03:40 am
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2009, 06:35 pm
  5. Question on template "ANSI B Title Block" in Autoc
    By ehoward in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Sep 2005, 11:36 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts