Help getting the right scale from Model Space to Paper Space

Susan-Skye

I'm just learning the differences between model space and paper space, and I'm having trouble drawing something in model space that has the same scale as the template I set up in paperspace.

I set up a dwt with my border and title block, used it to open a new drawing, and started drawing in model space like I'm supposed to.

But now, even though the paper size is supposed to be the same for both drawings (I checked this in Page Setup Manager), my drawing is huge in model space and

not nearly as big as it needs to be when I view it in paper space with my template around it.

How can I get the scale of the drawing to be the same and plot preview the same in both model space and paper space?

Does it have something to do with viewports?

Viewports are the key to paperspace's success.

Try drawing everything in modelspace to full size (whatever that may be). Then from paperspace, insert your title block, and use the ._mview command (or others as appropriate) to draw a viewport within your title block... it will probably take on an initial view of 'zoom extents' for the modelspace contents. Then double click within the viewport, this activates your viewport (using the ._mspace command) automatically. Pan, scroll, and/or zoom toward your detail as needed just to get it oriented within your viewport. Now using one of many methods, change the scale of the viewport itself:

Example, where I changed the scale to 1:40 (I input the red):

Command: [color=red]z[/color]
ZOOM
Specify corner of window, enter a scale factor (nX or nXP), or
[All/Center/Dynamic/Extents/Previous/Scale/Window/Object] <real time>: [color=red]s[/color]

Enter a scale factor (nX or nXP): [color=red]1/40xp[/color]
Regenerating model.