cutting component from drawing

endlasuresh

I have a drawing of plastic component which i need to make parts.I am not getting how to open that and select parts etc as i am very new to sollidworks.

Please let me know whether i should open in solidworks or solid viewer etc.and then make it into parts or else should i draw a new drawing based on the dimensions ?

I think we need to get the nomenclature right. Do you want to create a 2d engineering drawing from the file or do you want to split a part file with multiple bodies into individual part files?

If you have a part file with multiple bodies in the top of your feature tree you should have a folder called "Solid Bodies". This folder will contain all the solid bodies in the part file. If you expand this folder and right click on any of the parts you will see "Insert into New Part...". That will export that solid body into its own part file.

I need a 2d engg drawing from the file but it should be in pieces.from the image you see rectangle box which is in red color.

I have to seperate this and then have to make 2d engg drawing for making this part.So please let me know how i should do this[ATTACH]24031[/ATTACH]

img.JPG

Edited by endlasuresh

When you are in a drawing if you expand that assembly file in the tree(left hand side) you can show/hide individual components by right clicking on them and selecting show/hide.

SWDrawingHide.JPG

its a 2d drawing file and i dont see assembly parts.I think it exists in the assembly file.Do i need the assembly file or is their any method

edit

I have drawn the part but i not getting extrude cut.I followed the tutorial lesson 2 and still i am geting wrong.I jneed to cut 1.5 mm on left side but it should half part selection

you can look at the image

new.JPG

Edited by endlasuresh

thanks for the help