+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    23

    Exclamation Published PDF layout name problem

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi.
    I have drawing.dwg file for example. Layout name is SK-0.1. i Publish it with DWG to PDF in "AutoCad Architecture 2010". and usually i should have "drawing-SK-0.1.pdf" file, but I now have "drawing-SK-0_1.pdf". What is the problem? why the layout name was changed to ..SK-0_1.pdf ?? it should have to be ..SK-0.1.pdf. Thank you for answer..

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    I assume that its changed because it's really not good to have another dot besides the file-extension-dot (i.e. .dwg) in a file-name. I have had files become non-openable because of that.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    I assume that its changed because it's really not good to have another dot besides the file-extension-dot (i.e. .dwg) in a file-name. I have had files become non-openable because of that.
    There were not problems with previous versions.. by the way, I use Autocad 2009LT before.. and it were ok with dot in layouts names....

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    I am not saying that it will not work to have more than one dot in a file name, but I would not recommend it, and perhaps this change is also a recommendation not to do that.

    I have had multiple files crash on me in the earlier versions of Revit over and over again until we realised that the problem was the folder that the files where in had a unusual sign (an Å)... that was enough to make Revit go BAAHHHHhh-kaboom.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  5. #5
    Super Member nukecad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nukecad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 10 home.
    Computer:
    Various machines.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NW Cumbria (English Lake District)
    Posts
    714

    Default

    Hi lutcus;

    Computers are a lot more tolerant with filenames these days; in the past (all of 15 years ago) the OS would get to the first dot and assume that whatever came after was the file extension.
    The programme would then crash because it couldn't recognise the filetype.

    Similarly spaces were not allowed in filenames.
    You can recognise older/experienced computer users, we use an underscore in filenames instead of a space.

    There are still characters on your keyboard that you cannot use in a filename because they mean something specific to the OS:
    \ /:*?"<> |
    *** Out of Beer Error ->-> Recovering Memory***

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    I am not saying that it will not work to have more than one dot in a file name, but I would not recommend it, and perhaps this change is also a recommendation not to do that.

    I have had multiple files crash on me in the earlier versions of Revit over and over again until we realised that the problem was the folder that the files where in had a unusual sign (an Å)... that was enough to make Revit go BAAHHHHhh-kaboom.
    This problem comes, when i publishing two or more layouts. (02-S-TP-SK-0_1.pdf; 02-S-TP-SK-0_2.pdf.......-SK-0_3...).When i plot one layout the name is corect.. for example 02-S-TP-SK-0.1.pdf.. it's very sad.. because with 2009 Lite version it was ok..today I use Cad Architecture 2010 and it has this pdf file name problem...

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default

    ok.. i found out in other forums, that it's newest versions ACad problem.. they just do not want we use Adobe products.. it's fuc..in' sad, but it's true.. so i sloved it by using free file rename soft..

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi,
    since we are talking about name and publishing...I have an other problemconcerning this topic ....some times the name of the pdf is shorter than the layout name ( only 10 letters or so). It looks like there's something that controls the length of the name...did sombody experience the same problem?
    Thanks in advance for the help
    P.S. :I'm using Autocad Mep2009 and the layouts are set with the AdobePDF printer and they are saved atumatically in a specific folder without prompting for the name.

  9. #9
    Super Member DANIEL's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    DANIEL's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Industrial
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Posts
    1,005

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by isolde View Post
    Hi,
    since we are talking about name and publishing...I have an other problemconcerning this topic ....some times the name of the pdf is shorter than the layout name ( only 10 letters or so). It looks like there's something that controls the length of the name...did sombody experience the same problem?
    Thanks in advance for the help
    P.S. :I'm using Autocad Mep2009 and the layouts are set with the AdobePDF printer and they are saved atumatically in a specific folder without prompting for the name.
    I have experienced this though i don't know what causes it or how to prevent it, hopefully someone here will have some awnsers .....
    If you would like to help my 2 year old niece Alaina in her battle against Leukemia you can donate blood at any Carter Blood Care and put SPON050875 on the donor form. Thank you so much for any contributions in this matter that you can make.

    Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    RocketSurgeon's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20
    Discipline
    Electrical
    RocketSurgeon's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Design
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    Electrical 2011
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    We use FILENAME.R1.dwg and FILENAME.R2.dwg respectively for Revision 1 and Revision 2. When we .pdf, the file name automatically drops the .R1 or .R2 leaving us with just FILENAME.pdf.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem About Layout
    By AleX85 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Jul 2008, 10:59 pm
  2. Layout problem
    By guyzen2004 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2008, 05:24 am
  3. AutoCAD 2009 Tutorial Videos Published on YouTube
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st Apr 2008, 10:30 pm
  4. Autodesk Impression e-Learning Courses Published
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th Jan 2008, 09:10 pm
  5. AutoCAD 2008 Productivity Study Report from Cambashi Published
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th Jun 2007, 10:20 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts