+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Placing objects one next to other,not one above the other with Polar Array Option???

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi everyone,
    I have a little problem with polar array option - I think I'm not doing something right. A while ago I use this option to make the first attached picture, but now I need to do exactly the same and I can't get the same result - second picture Do you know how I can array the objects one next to another and not one above the other?

    sdf.jpg
    fff.png

    PS: I coudn't find post with info about this situation! :/

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,304

    Default

    You have to know the angle your are going to fill (90 deg) and the number of blocks required (6) using the example immediately above. I don't see where you would have a problem doing this.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default :/

    In the first example the objects shrink at the bottom and stretch at the top to fit correct to the angle without placing themselve one above the other! In the second picture the objects fill the angle, but they are placed one above the other!
    I want to do it again like in the first picture, but I don't know how! I was looking for some mark, but I didn't see it, I guess I'm missing something, but I don't know what! :/

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional (32bit)
    Motherboard:
    Intel DG33FB
    CPU:
    Intel Core2 E2220 @ 2.4GHz
    RAM:
    4GB DDR2 6400
    Graphics:
    ATI Firepro 5800
    Primary Storage:
    250GB WD 7200rpm / 320GB WD 7200rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB WD external USB
    Monitor:
    Samsung 26" @ 1920x1200 + LG 22" @ 1680x1050
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,641

    Default

    I don't think AutoCAD can do that by itself. Could it be that you made one compressed section and arrayed that to make the curved section? or maybe you used a lisp? http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...297-Duct-elbow

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default :)

    No, I'm new to AutoCad and I'm still exploring the easy and visible functions I'm still far away from using lisp Thanks Nestly, I didn't make compressed section, but this remind me, what I did! I used the array option only for straight lines, then I made couple of extra arcs and manually connected the crossed point (arc x straight line) with each other in desired view. Then just deleted the extra arcs (actually I start using fillet option for making this type of arcs)

    It's slow, but that the best I could do, with my knowledge for AutoCad :p

    Thanks for the answers

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,388

    Default

    You have to look carefully, but the shapes going round the array in the first picture are different to the shapes along the straight parts. So you could have used a different shape to array, or you could have drawn it from scratch quicker.

    In fact there are some lines that do not end up where they should do

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hahah I know it doesn't look very good if you take a better look at it, but at that time, that was enough for me :p Maybe this time I'll make it fits better

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie Starkvinna's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Starkvinna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro, SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Dimension 4600
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    768 MB
    Graphics:
    Intel 82865G, 96.0 MB
    Primary Storage:
    -blah-It's only 74.4 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Inland Booklet 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Model #HS0050IAK)
    Monitor:
    Vuescape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    2

    AutoCAD

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I agree 100% with ReMark. I made the following picture using these steps:

    ORTHO ON, OSNAP ON

    COMMAND LINE: LINE
    (chose point)
    "up" 5
    @2.5<45
    @2.5<-45
    @-5
    @-2.5<45
    @-2.5<-45
    [enter]
    Then I used OSNAPs to make the center line really quickly.
    Then I "window-selected" all 7 items
    COMMAND LINE: AR
    rectangular array
    1 row, 4 columns
    row offset: 0.0000, column offset: 3.5355
    (right-click to approve after clicking "preview")
    COMMAND LINE: LINE
    (chose top of right-side '5' line as starting point)
    @1.9134<67.5
    @1.9134<-67.5
    @-5
    @-1.9134<67.5
    @-1.9134<-67.5
    Then I selected the far right 7 objects.
    COMMAND LINE: AR
    polar array
    Center Point: chose THE left endpoint on the top horizontal line shown in picture. obviously yours will differ.
    Method: Total number of items and angle to fill
    Total number of items: 14 (obviously I was doing this quickly, and yours will differ)
    Angle to fill: 90
    (right-click to approve after "preview")
    Then I recreated the very first object on top and then selected the the top 7 items
    COMMAND LINE: AR
    Rectangular Array
    Rows: 4, Columns: 1
    Row offset: 3.5355, Column offset: 0.0000
    (right-click after clicking "preview" to accept)
    COMMAND LINE: TRIM
    [Enter]

    Then obviously it needs to be cleaned up, trimmed, etc.
    Hope this step-by-step helps you at least figure out what you did originally, even though it's a bit different.

    polar ar.jpg

Similar Threads

  1. rectangular array with angle of array option
    By subhasish in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th Aug 2010, 10:01 am
  2. Help with Polar Array
    By Fire_col in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th Jul 2010, 01:52 pm
  3. polar array
    By ghostlx in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9th Oct 2009, 05:22 pm
  4. Polar Array
    By matt4 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th Apr 2009, 12:14 pm
  5. Polar Array
    By guyzen2004 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th Jun 2008, 05:34 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts