Problem with scaling

alan_mardan

Hi every one,

I use autocad 2011, i tended to have scale 1:1 from beginning and did all my drawings. When i print my layout, it shows a line of 8000 mm in the actual drawing as 6.5 cm measured by ruler on the paper.

Please i need help with this issue to get a correct scale?

Regards

Alan

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• alan_mardan

• ReMark

• qball

• nicolas

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

If plotting from paperspace:

- Viewport scale is correct?

- Print Setup , Plot Scale is 1:1?

If plotting from modelspace:

- Print Setup , Plot Scale is correct?

I am not an expert in this field, sorry

all i do is that i draw in model space and prepare it for printing in layout page, using model view ''mv''. When i print from there i get print properties there i select window to select my drawing and then it says it is scaled to 1:1 or i can fit it to paper. But in both cases i don't get it right.

For example 10000 mm does not give me 10 cm or what ever when i measure it with ruler. It tends to be 8 cm on the printed paper.

I am sorry if i confuse you but as i said i am just a beginner and need to submit my Course work professionally

Thanks

I do understand that drawings should be done in 1:1 in model space. You want a 10,000 units lines to represent 10,000 mm. The UNITS should be set to mm. hence 1 unit 1 mm.

You click on layout tab and then right click the layout tab and click on "Page Setup Manager" to have the Page Setup Manager Dialog Box wherein you define the name of the printer, the page size and the page orientation among others. The Plot Scale is to be 1:1. Hence drawing in model space is 1:1 and the plot scale is also 1:1.

Now you want a 10,000 mm. lines to be represented by 1 cm or 10mm. or a scale of 1:1000 where 1mm represent 1000mm. and 10mm. or 1 cm. will of course represent 10,000 mm.