+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default 3d polyline wireframe to solid

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    I'm new to this forum but have been following it for awhile and think it is an invaluable exchange network.

    I'm stuck on how to convert my model to a 3d solid, i have it as a mesh model in rhino, and lines and 3d polylines in autocad. region + extrude (press pull) doesn't work. i can't offset it = it says points are not in same plane. I don't know what to do....please help!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    That's one of the problems encountered with doing something in one program and then bringing the output into another. Sometimes you just create more headaches for yourself.

    AutoCAD does have a mesh-to-solid conversion command but I'm not 100% sure it will work in your case. But you should at least give it a try. Click on the Mesh Modeling tab, find the Convert Mesh panel and click on Convert to Solid. What happens?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    ReMark,

    Thank-you so much for your reply. It seriously is a big headache. But I would love to get it to work so I can put it into revit 2011. I tried convert mesh but it would not work because it said I had open meshes - ie gaps. I am trying to resolve this but in rhino, there are no gaps!!! i also used the highest mesh triangulation output. there is also a convert solid command in rhino 4 but i couldn't get that to work either. I will keep trying! i have got to get inventive I think!

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    I think you painted yourself into a corner and you are not going to get out.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    27

    Default

    hello
    was reading this thread
    i have same exact issue..

    I have 3 D polylines i need to convert to 3D solids.
    -CONVOTOSOLIDS does not work

    can you advice on anythig which can make me do the conversion easily? i have more than 1000 shapes..
    thanks heaps
    kay

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by whiterabbit View Post
    ReMark,

    Thank-you so much for your reply. It seriously is a big headache. But I would love to get it to work so I can put it into revit 2011. I tried convert mesh but it would not work because it said I had open meshes - ie gaps. I am trying to resolve this but in rhino, there are no gaps!!! i also used the highest mesh triangulation output. there is also a convert solid command in rhino 4 but i couldn't get that to work either. I will keep trying! i have got to get inventive I think!
    have you found a solution to this issue..?

Similar Threads

  1. 3D wireframe to 3D solid?
    By acce in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th Sep 2009, 12:32 pm
  2. 3D solid to Wireframe
    By Wise in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd Nov 2008, 08:25 pm
  3. Converting a wireframe to solid
    By AutoNewbie in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th Mar 2008, 02:08 pm
  4. wireframe to solid
    By 911racer in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th Jul 2007, 02:45 am
  5. wireframe to solid?
    By bop in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th Oct 2003, 11:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts