+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default Angular dimension edit issue , ACAD 2010

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    This is angular dimension of the arc, in my drawing ( picture 1)


    I need for my, angular dimension to be identical as here (2) :



    I have menaged to reposition right arrow and extension line (3) :


    Problem is obvious, extension is sloping to the left, I want this line to overlaps withe red one. How can I achieve this ?
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    If the radius point of the arc doesn't lie on the 'red' line, none of the dimension commands will do what you want... you'll need to 'draw' the dimension (which is poor drafting practice). The extension lines should converge (the apparent intersection) on the radius point.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lpseifert View Post
    If the radius point of the arc doesn't lie on the 'red' line, none of the dimension commands will do what you want... you'll need to 'draw' the dimension (which is poor drafting practice). The extension lines should converge (the apparent intersection) on the radius point.
    Your suggestion really helps, tnx

    I've looked at the second picture more carefully, neither of the arcs are not centered at dashed red line intersection. Is there any way to set angular dimension, given center point (in my case intersection) , osnap endpoind on the left, and orthogonal dashed line ?
    Attached Images

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,932

    Default

    You need to draw the centerlines and use those to define the angular dimension. The 55 degree dimension isn't related to either of the arcs, it's there to locate the nose of the hook.

    http://screencast.com/t/YMCQo7Asm

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nestly View Post
    You need to draw the centerlines and use those to define the angular dimension. The 55 degree dimension isn't related to either of the arcs, it's there to locate the nose of the hook.

    http://screencast.com/t/YMCQo7Asm
    Thank you

    I should have paid more attention to the command line

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,555

    Default

    Of course, if you were going down the road of poor drafting practice, you could always explode the dimension, and edit the end to suit
    Attached Images

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,077

    Default

    How about posting the drawing?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Here it is :

    Your suggestions were so helpfull, thank you all !
    Attached Files

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,077

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djole_ri View Post
    Here it is :

    Your suggestions were so helpfull, thank you all !
    Does this mean you were successful?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Does this mean you were successful?
    Yes, but there is another thing I come across : picture 1


    I follow these instructions, but in the fourth step I'm having this :2

    Angle (third item in square barckets), applies not to the extension lines, but to the dimension text, so I been missing : Horizontal, Vertical, Rotated, and Rotated is exactly what I need. Is there an solution for this problem ?
    Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. Ribbon / Table edit toolbar issue
    By Rebel in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th May 2010, 04:32 pm
  2. Angular Dimension Style
    By Laurel in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Jan 2009, 02:01 pm
  3. New Graphics Card - Text Edit Issue
    By Lerchiam in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Apr 2008, 06:48 pm
  4. Angular Dimension Help
    By Luvrbcs in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th Jan 2008, 05:32 pm
  5. problem with Angular Dimension
    By dreamer in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Dec 2005, 12:47 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts