Can't Change Drawing Ciolors Using Layers or Properties - Help :-)!

David_Feynman

I would like to take a drawing and change all the layers (all aspects of the drawing) to one color. If I change all layers to one color only some elements on the screen change colors. Likewise even if I perform "select all" and right click and select properties and change color, some items simply won't change. If I click on the items that won't change they do show that they are set to the color I changed the layer to, yet on the screen will still be blue or yellow etc. I am sure this is just because I don't understand some other aspect of AutoCAD and there is a simple solution but I don't know what it is.

I suspect this is the key part. I have noticed that the elements I cannot change, when I hover over them they say "block". The elements I was successful in changing do not seem to be blocks.

Please spell out how to do it, or I likely won't know how to get there :-), I am still a total beginner at this. I am using AutoCAD Architecture 2011 in case it matters.

Thank You!

Edited by David_Feynman

what i do is use the command setbylayer first, select the whole drawing, then change the layer colours in layer manager. that usually does the trick.

Holy crap, worked like a charm, you just saved me hours of work. Thanks so much! Previous to reading your post I had found another thread whose instructions I was following and I was trying to change every block on a block by block basis.

blocks and layers are confusing.... you have to know that the entities inside a block have layer properties, which once made into a block, will not change unless edited within the block, i.e. in block editor. moving the block to another layer will not change the entities within it.