+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 76
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default need project help for penn foster oleson village

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    im stuck with the coordinates. i have lines and points all over the place few points near the origin then a point alll the way acroos the screen.

    these were the directions. the benchmark is located NE corner of the intersection of SW washingtion st and SW Oleson road. the benchmark coordinates is 1421334.93,783207.62

    then first point of survey (poiny of beginning) is 113.66 ft from the benchmark bearing N5degrees 27' 23"W

    so this is what i did from the above coordinates is 1421334.93,783207.62 i type LINE > @113.66<N5D27'23"W but nothing happens am i doing something wrong.

    then try are other point continuing that line 542.16<N39D16'42"E etc.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    I have access to this drawing and can take a look at it for you later. Unfortunately I am not at my CAD computer.

    What are your settings for unit type and angle and what level of precision do you have them set to?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    If you have dynamic input turned on, (and assuming you haven't changed it) the default format is "relative polar coordinates". You don't have to add the < or the @ unless you've switched to a different format. In your example above, you've used the wrong symbol after the line command too. It should point left (the less than sign). Yours points right and that may be the problem.

    --edit--

    That "greater than" symbol (the one I said was backwards) shouldn't be there at all. Note to self: make sure caffiene has kicked in before typing stuff others will read
    Last edited by Jack_O'neill; 19th Dec 2010 at 02:18 pm.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    my instruction to told to set it my UNITS to decimal to 0.00 and my angle is the surveyor thingy. but i up the whole night trying to figure things out and i think i got it. can i upload the picture so you guys can check if im on the right track. i dont want to find out i messed up and have to redo it

    also, if u look at my screenies at the intersection there are lines crossing each other how do i delete the unwanted lines. the only way is to use BREAK command??

    and i have another question. it ask me to create a TREE block. so what i did was make a circle, used the create block, named it as TREE, and used the pick point for the center of the circle, is that correct?
    thank you so much guys. sry for asking so many questions, i want to get this right. and i really want to understand it.
    screenie3.jpg.
    screenie2.jpg
    screenie1.jpg

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Have you tried the TRIM command instead of BREAK?

    It sounds like you made your tree block correctly. Picking the center as the "base point" is a good move. Some users pick off the object or they use 0,0 as the base point which will lead to some strange results when inserting the block later on.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    hi guys new question im at the part where i put more detail to the roads and sidewalks. it ask me to create a 6-feet wide roadway. 1-foot buffer between the right of way and beginning of the sidewalk, and 3f-oot parking strip between the sidewalk and curb. im just a lil bit confused on how to draw it. lets say the above screenie is my base line of the roadway. am i suppose to make the buffer inward or outward from it.? not sure if im explaining my question right.

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Heres the newest update of the project does it look right?

    screenie4.jpg

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    I doubt very much the assignment asked you to create a 6 foot wide roadway. Think on it for a moment. How do you expect two cars going in opposite directions to fit on a 6 foot wide road?

    Isn't this what the text reads?

    "All the roadways in the subdivision have sidewalks that are 6 feet wide. there's a 1-foot buffer between the right-of-way and the beginning of the sidewalk, and there's a 3-foot parking strip between the sidewalk and the curb."
    Last edited by ReMark; 20th Dec 2010 at 01:05 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    This is how I think it should be drawn. HOWEVER...I'm not a mind reader so I cannot say that whoever came up with this assignment at Penn Foster didn't have something different in mind. I can only relate to you how we did it in the city of New Britain, CT when I worked in the municipal engineering department for eight years both in the field as a member of a survey crew and in the office as a draftsman.

    Typically, in our city, right-of-ways are 50 feet wide. The actual paved surface of the road is 30 feet wide. 10 feet on either side of the ROW is reserved for the sidewalk, a grass strip, and the curb. Standard practice is to located the back of the walk 1 foot off of the Right-of-Way line (also called the Streetline). The streetline doubles as the front property line.

    Olsen Village ROW.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I don't like the way the previous image looks so I hope this one is a bit more clear.

    Olsen Village ROW_2.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help with Penn & Foster exams
    By robxfinch in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 13th Nov 2012, 08:14 pm
  2. Penn and Foster Structural Project Help
    By robxfinch in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 20th Nov 2011, 03:31 am
  3. Penn Foster Oleson Village drawing
    By black31 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2010, 10:56 pm
  4. Another student with an "Oleson Village" Plat Map question.
    By Grip Grip in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 29th Nov 2010, 12:15 pm
  5. Penn Foster Alumnae
    By BIGMIKE09281946 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Sep 2009, 03:47 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts